Rates partly published · Lake Charles, LA

Flight training at Plane Simple

No instructor rate or FAA part. Plane Simple publishes a $145/hr aircraft rate and nothing for instruction or its FAA part, so there is no total on this page.

Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Plane Simple at KLCH.

Based at
Lake Charles Regional Airport(LCH)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · CPL
Phone
337-513-3319
Website
planesimple.net

Section 1What is published

Plane Simple's own figures

Checked August 13, 2026 · Source

Aircraft: $145/hr

The $145 is stated wet and covers both Cessna 172s. The Cirrus SR22 in the same fleet carries no published rate.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate and an FAA part.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction or its FAA part unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

  • FAA partMissing from their site

    Part 61 and Part 141 carry different minimum hours and different financing rules.

What to compare their answer against

Not Plane Simple's rates. The middle of what 5 Louisiana schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $138 to $180 per hour.
$161
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 5 schools with published rates.
$65

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Plane Simple is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Louisiana-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Plane Simple's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

337-513-3319
  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. What does instruction cost per hour?Missing from their site

    No instructor figure appears anywhere on the site, and the school routes training enquiries to two instructors' personal email addresses.

  5. What does the Cirrus SR22 rent for, and does it carry a higher instruction rate?

    It is in the fleet with no price, and Cirrus time is usually taught by a CSIP at a premium.

  6. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  7. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  8. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the numbers over and Plane Simple gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

5 Louisiana schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

  • Flightline Air ServicePineville, LA · Checked September 12, 2026
    $138/hr$41/hr instruction
  • Fly By KnightHammond, LA · Checked September 10, 2026
    $161/hr$55 to $75/hr instruction
  • Gulf Coast AviationNew Orleans, LA · Checked August 6, 2026
    $180/hr$65 to $79/hr instruction
  • Neu AviationShreveport, LA · Checked September 10, 2026
    $180/hr$65/hr instruction
  • Propell AirDeRidder, LA · Checked September 12, 2026
    $140/hr$75/hr instruction

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
AOPA flight school finder, Plane Simple at KLCHChecked August 13, 2026
The rates above
Plane Simple crew and fleet pageChecked August 13, 2026

Are you Plane Simple? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it
  • Whether you train under Part 61 or Part 141Send it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Plane Simple. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Louisiana flight schools

All Louisiana flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.