What flight training at Fly Pioneer Valley costs

Turners Falls, MA · Checked October 16, 2026

Website flypioneervalley.com

Phone 413-824-7122

Cost estimate

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Cessna 172, $175/hr

Wet, per the FAQ.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Fly Pioneer Valley

$18,745

range $16.1K – $21.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Fly Pioneer Valley's published rates: Cessna 172 at $175/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked October 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,455
at the hours students actually take$18,745

+$7,290 on Fly Pioneer Valley's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.1K – $21.4K
Aircraft rental$12,600
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,370
72 hrs in Cessna 172 @ $175/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Fly Pioneer Valley's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Fly Pioneer Valley's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

The rate card

What Fly Pioneer Valley publishes

Checked October 16, 2026
Cessna 172Wet, per the FAQ.$175/hr wet
Instruction$65/hr

Rates are wet, stated as including fuel. Fly Pioneer Valley is a single-instructor school; the aircraft is reserved for the pilots the instructor trains. Training is $175/hr; once you hold the certificate the same 172 rents to you at $165/hr.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Fly Pioneer Valley does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Discovery flight

$175

Checked October 16, 2026

See it on their siteCall 413-824-7122

Discovery flight prices in Massachusetts

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,745.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone, plus 2 in Massachusetts. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,745All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,745 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

In the app

Track it against Fly Pioneer Valley's rates.

Fly Pioneer Valley's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Fly Pioneer Valley when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Fly Pioneer Valley's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Fly Pioneer Valley?

Fly Pioneer Valley publishes $175 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,745, in a range of $16,100 to $21,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Fly Pioneer Valley.

How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Fly Pioneer Valley?

Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Fly Pioneer Valley to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.

Is Fly Pioneer Valley a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?

Fly Pioneer Valley does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.

Do Fly Pioneer Valley's aircraft rates include fuel?

Fly Pioneer Valley publishes $175 per hour for the Cessna 172, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 16, 2026.

What ratings can you train for at Fly Pioneer Valley?

Fly Pioneer Valley trains Private Pilot. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Fly Pioneer Valley's own published rates.

Sources

Estimates use Fly Pioneer Valley's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked October 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Fly Pioneer Valley. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Fly Pioneer Valley? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.