PilotBound estimate · Kimball, MI · Checked September 12, 2026
What flight training at Ascend Aviation costs
Website ascendaviationmi.com
Phone 586-220-9944
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Lycoming 180 HP, transponder and ADS-B Out. The site says new avionics are coming.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Ascend Aviation
range $16.4K – $21.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Ascend's published rates: Piper PA-28-180 at $180/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,450 on Ascend's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Ascend Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Ascend Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Ascend publishes
checked September 12, 2026Ascend Aviation does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Ascend's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Ascend does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $19,105.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Michigan-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,105All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $19,105 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Ascend's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Ascend Aviation?
- Ascend Aviation publishes $180 per hour for the Piper PA-28-180 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,105, in a range of $16,400 to $21,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Ascend Aviation.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Ascend Aviation?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Ascend Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Ascend Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Ascend Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Ascend Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Ascend Aviation publishes $180 per hour for the Piper PA-28-180, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Ascend Aviation?
- Ascend Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Ascend Aviation's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Ascend Aviation's published Piper PA-28-180 and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Ascend Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Ascend? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
One other school flies from St Clair County International Airport.
It does not publish a rate either, so that one is a phone call too. PHN is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Saint Clair Flight AcademyPublishes no ratesPort Huron
Other Michigan flight schools
- ACE Aviation Center · Ann Arbor
- Airmen Academy · Lowell
- Airservice Enterprise · Howell
- American Aviation · Waterford
- Apogee Air · Waterford
- Bay Flying Services · Saginaw
- Centennial Aircraft Services · Battle Creek
- Clear2Aviate · Ionia
- Conrad Aero · Three Rivers
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.