PilotBound estimate · Traverse City, MI · Checked September 12, 2026

What flight training at Northwestern Michigan College costs

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Wet, solo rate. NMC's dual rate for this aircraft is $259/hr.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Northwestern Michigan College

$20,183

range $17.4K$23K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on NMC's published rates: Cessna 172S at $199/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,255
at the hours students actually take$20,183

+$7,928 on NMC's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17.4K$23K
Aircraft rental$14,328
Instruction$3,480
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,808
72 hrs in Cessna 172S @ $199/hr + 58 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Northwestern Michigan College's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Northwestern Michigan College's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What NMC publishes

checked September 12, 2026
Cessna 172S (G1000)Wet, solo rate. NMC's dual rate for this aircraft is $259/hr.$199/hr wet
Piper Super CubWet, solo. Tailwheel. Dual $240/hr.$180/hr wet
DecathlonWet, solo. Tailwheel and aerobatic. Dual $240/hr.$180/hr wet
Piper AztecWet, solo. The multi-engine trainer. Dual $375/hr.$305/hr wet
Instructionstandard $60/hr · multi-engine instruction $70/hr$60 – $70/hr

These are course rates for students enrolled in NMC's aviation programme, not walk-in rental rates, and tuition is charged separately. NMC's rate card is dated April 10, 2025; its academic catalogue quotes a higher combined $267/hr for aircraft plus instructor effective August 2025, so confirm which applies before budgeting. Fuel is included, with a surcharge possible if fuel prices rise. A Frasca 172 is $125/hr and a Redbird $5/hr, both plus $60/hr of instruction.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. NMC does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $20,183.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Michigan-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,183Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $20,183 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what NMC's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Northwestern Michigan College?
Northwestern Michigan College publishes $199 per hour for the Cessna 172S and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,183, in a range of $17,400 to $23,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Northwestern Michigan College.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Northwestern Michigan College?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Northwestern Michigan College to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Northwestern Michigan College a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Northwestern Michigan College does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Northwestern Michigan College's aircraft rates include fuel?
Northwestern Michigan College publishes $199 per hour for the Cessna 172S, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Northwestern Michigan College?
Northwestern Michigan College trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction runs $60 to $70 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Northwestern Michigan College's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Northwestern Michigan College's published Cessna 172S and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Northwestern Michigan College. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you NMC? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Michigan flight schools

All Michigan flight schoolsAll Traverse City flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.