Rates partly published · Alma, MI
Flight training at Three Point Aviation
No instructor rate. Three Point publishes rates for all 5 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked October 12, 2026 against Three Point Aviation site.
- Based at
- Gratiot Community Airport(AMN)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Phone
- (989) 463-5500
- Website
- threepointaviation.com
Section 1What is published
Three Point's own figures
Checked October 12, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 150 (N7838F)1966 | $95/hr | Wet. Two seats. The page prints the tail as M7838F. |
| Cessna 172L (N4281Q)1971 | $135/hr | Wet. |
| Cessna 172N (N6211D)1979 | $145/hr | Wet. |
| Cessna 172M (N1229U)1976 | $155/hr | Wet. |
| Cessna 172P (N54371) | $155/hr | Wet. |
Airframes built 1966 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 12, 2026.
Five airplanes priced wet by tail on the airport operator's page, scheduled online once a renter has been set up. No instructor is named or priced.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Three Point's rates. The middle of what 18 Michigan schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $109 to $395 per hour.
- $160
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 18 schools with published rates.
- $60
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Three Point is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Michigan-only awards in the directory yet.
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Three Point's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Who instructs in these airplanes, and what does instruction cost per hour?Missing from their site
The state lists this operator as a licensed flight school and its own page prices only the rentals.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Three Point Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5In the app
Section 6Nearby schools
18 Michigan schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- 4 One AirHolland, MI · Checked October 12, 2026$125/hr$58 to $80/hr instruction
- Apogee AirWaterford, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$395/hr$155 to $225/hr instruction
- Ascend AviationKimball, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$180/hr$65/hr instruction
- Bay Flying ServicesSaginaw, MI · Checked September 30, 2026$150/hr$50/hr instruction
- Crosswinds AviationHowell, MI · Checked October 12, 2026$189/hr$52/hr instruction
- Foxtrot Flight TrainingDowagiac, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$115/hr$70/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Three Point Aviation siteChecked October 12, 2026
- The rates above
- Three Point Aviation home pageChecked October 12, 2026
Are you Three Point Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Three Point Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Michigan flight schools
- 4 One Air · Holland
- ACE Aviation Center · Ann Arbor
- Airmen Academy · Lowell
- Airservice Enterprise · Howell
- American Aviation · Waterford
- Apogee Air · Waterford
- Ascend Aviation · Kimball
- Bay Flying Services · Saginaw
- Centennial Aircraft Services · Battle Creek
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


