PilotBound estimate · Ypsilanti, MI · Checked October 12, 2026

What flight training at Valor Flight Academy costs

Website valorflightacademy.com

Phone (313) 949-5422

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Tecnam P2008 MK II (2026), $189/hr

Fuel basis not stated. Two seats, Rotax 912, dual G3X Touch, GTN 650Xi, autopilot. The school's one airplane.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Valor Flight Academy

$19,753

range $17K – $22.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Valor's published rates: Tecnam P2008 MK II at $189/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked October 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,015
at the hours students actually take$19,753

+$7,738 on Valor's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17K – $22.5K
Aircraft rental$13,608
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,378
72 hrs in Tecnam P2008 MK II @ $189/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Valor Flight Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Valor Flight Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Valor publishes

checked October 12, 2026
Tecnam P2008 MK II (2026)Fuel basis not stated. Two seats, Rotax 912, dual G3X Touch, GTN 650Xi, autopilot. The school's one airplane.$189/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$65/hr

The Tecnam P2008 MK II is $189/hr and instruction is $65/hr for flight and ground; the site does not say whether fuel is included. Michigan's 6% aircraft tax is added to the rental, and the online ground course is a $300 flat fee. The programs overview still works its Private Pilot estimate at $179/hr for the airplane.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Valor's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Valor does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,753.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Michigan-only awards in the directory yet.
51
Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,753All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,753 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5In the app

Track it against Valor's rates.

Valor Flight Academy's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Valor when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Valor's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Valor Flight Academy?
Valor Flight Academy publishes $189 per hour for the Tecnam P2008 MK II and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,753, in a range of $17,000 to $22,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Valor Flight Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Valor Flight Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Valor Flight Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Valor Flight Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Valor Flight Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Valor Flight Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
Valor Flight Academy publishes $189 per hour for the Tecnam P2008 MK II, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked October 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Valor Flight Academy?
Valor Flight Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Valor Flight Academy's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Valor Flight Academy's published Tecnam P2008 MK II and instructor rates (checked October 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Valor Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Valor? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Michigan flight schools

All Michigan flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.