PilotBound estimate · Columbia, MO · Checked August 20, 2026
What flight training at Columbia Jet Center costs
Website columbiajet.aero
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
The lowest-cost trainer.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Columbia Jet Center
range $14.3K – $19K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Columbia Jet Center's published rates: Piper Warrior at $150/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked August 20, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,360 on Columbia Jet Center's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Columbia Jet Center's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Columbia Jet Center's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Columbia Jet Center publishes
checked August 20, 2026Columbia Jet Center does not state whether its rates include fuel. The estimate uses the published rate as-is. The school's private-pilot page prices the Warrior at $130/hr and the 172N TAA at $185/hr, against the $150 and $195 on the rates page this estimate cites. Worth asking which applies before you budget.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Columbia Jet Center's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Columbia Jet Center does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $16,655.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Missouri-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $16,655All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $16,655 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Columbia Jet Center's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Columbia Jet Center?
- Columbia Jet Center publishes $150 per hour for the Piper Warrior and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 20, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,655, in a range of $14,300 to $19,000. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Columbia Jet Center.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Columbia Jet Center?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Columbia Jet Center to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Columbia Jet Center a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Columbia Jet Center does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Columbia Jet Center's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Columbia Jet Center publishes $150 per hour for the Piper Warrior, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked August 20, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Columbia Jet Center?
- Columbia Jet Center trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $60 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Columbia Jet Center's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Columbia Jet Center's published Piper Warrior and instructor rates (checked August 20, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Columbia Jet Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Columbia Jet Center? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
One other school flies from Columbia Regional Airport.
It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. COU is the identifier to give when you ask.
- ExcelAir8Publishes Piper Tomahawk at $145/hr, no instructor rateColumbia
Other Missouri flight schools
- ATD Flight Systems · Kansas City
- Cape Air Charter · Scott City
- Cape Copters · Cape Girardeau
- Chasaero · Warsaw
- EAS Flight Training · Aurora
- Elite Aviation · Chesterfield
- ExcelAir8 · Columbia
- Fun Flight Aviation · De Soto
- Gateway Flight Training · Maryland Heights
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.