What flight training costs at Bozeman Yellowstone International (BZN)

5 schools train at Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport, Bozeman. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 4 are listed with what they do publish.

Updated October 12, 2026 · All Montana flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 5 of 5 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Bozeman Yellowstone International$17.7K$23.4K
  • Ridgeline Aviation

    Part not stated
    2 locations

    Bozeman & Billings, MT·flyridgelinemt.com

    $184/hr aircraft (wet)·$85/hr instructor

    Checked October 12, 2026·Source

    Instructor rates vary by base: primary instruction is $85/hr at Bozeman and $72/hr at Billings (advanced $100/$85). This estimate uses the Bozeman rates.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $20,553

    range $17.7K to $23.4K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planRidgeline cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Belgrade, MT·BZN·highcountryflighttraining.com

    Checked October 12, 2026·Source

    High Country publishes no hourly rate for an airplane or an instructor. Its fleet is new 2026 Piper Archer TXs with G1000 NXi panels, a CubCrafters XCub listed as coming soon, and a Piper Seminole for the multi-engine rating. Training costs are quoted through a form.

    No PilotBound estimate

    High Country does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask High Country
  • Bozeman, MT·BZN·northernwingsaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Northern Wings does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Northern Wings
  • Paragon Air Adventures

    Part not stated

    Belgrade, MT·BZN·paragonair.com

    aircraft rate not published·$120/hr instructor

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source

    Published as 'Advanced flight or ground instruction: $120/hr', with mountain, aerobatic, high-performance, complex, tailwheel and TAA checkouts at the same figure. Half-day and full-day rates of $375 and $700 are also published, capped at 4 and 10 hours.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Paragon does not publish an aircraft rate

    What to ask Paragon
  • Belgrade, MT·BZN·transmedics.com/transmedics-aviation/flight-school/

    Checked October 12, 2026·Source

    TransMedics Aviation, the former Summit Aviation, publishes no hourly rate for an airplane or an instructor. Its training brochure describes a fleet of Diamond DA20s, DA40s and DA42 twins with a Cessna 172S, and a 30-week Business Aviation Academy for charter pilots, and prices none of it. The school is the flight training provider for Gallatin College's aviation program and offers a Purdue Global degree pathway.

    No PilotBound estimate

    TransMedics Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask TransMedics Aviation

Estimates use the same method as every Montana school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Discovery flights at BZN 1

Montana discovery flights →
  • High Country Flight Training · Belgrade

    Sixty minutes in a 2026 Piper Archer TX with a briefing before and a debrief after; headset included. Sold at $234 through October 14, 2026, and 15% off for military, veterans and first responders.

    Checked October 12, 2026SourceCall 1-833-700-4238

    $275

Flight school costs at Bozeman Yellowstone International, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Bozeman Yellowstone International school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 4 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$20,553
Published trainer rental, per hour
$184/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$85 to $100
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 5

Lowest published trainer rates at Bozeman Yellowstone International

Part 141 flight schools at Bozeman Yellowstone International

Common questions about flight schools at BZN

How much does flight school cost at Bozeman Yellowstone International?

Ridgeline Aviation in Bozeman & Billings is the one Bozeman Yellowstone International school here with a full published rate card: $184 per hour for its Cessna 172M and $85 per hour for instruction, checked October 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,553. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Bozeman Yellowstone International flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Bozeman Yellowstone International is October 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 4 more schools at Bozeman Yellowstone International are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Can I take a discovery flight at BZN?

One of the 5 schools at Bozeman Yellowstone International Airport publishes a discovery flight price: High Country Flight Training at $275, checked October 12, 2026. Each is the school's own published price, and the listing says what it includes.