PilotBound estimate · Livingston, MT · Checked September 12, 2026

What flight training at Fly With Virga costs

Website flywithvirga.com

Phone (406)220-0611

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Fly With Virga

$15,293

range $13.2K$17.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Fly With Virga's published rates: Champ at $119/hr dry + $75/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,535
at the hours students actually take$15,293

+$5,758 on Fly With Virga's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$13.2K$17.4K
Aircraft rental$8,568
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$12,918
72 hrs in Champ @ $119/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Fly With Virga's published rates (dry; fuel billed separately). About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Fly With Virga's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Fly With Virga publishes

checked September 12, 2026
Champ$119/hr dry
Instruction$75/hr

The aircraft is billed DRY on TACH time: the renter buys fuel afterwards for what was burned, and the school's own example is that a local flight logging 1.0 hour pays 0.8 tach. It estimates 6 to 7 gallons per hour, so add current avgas to the figure here. Instruction is billed on BLOCK time, engine start to shutdown, which is a different clock from the aircraft's. Cross-country reservations averaging 4 hours a day drop to $99/hr, and $98/hr if you fly to First Flight Airport. Ground instruction is $65/hr. A footnote on the same page works its rounding example from $109/hr rather than the $119/hr headline, so confirm which is current.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Fly With Virga does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $15,293.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in Montana. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,293All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $15,293 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Fly With Virga's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?

    The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Fly With Virga?
Fly With Virga publishes $119 per hour for the Champ and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,293, in a range of $13,200 to $17,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Fly With Virga.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Fly With Virga?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Fly With Virga to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Fly With Virga a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Fly With Virga does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Fly With Virga's aircraft rates include fuel?
Fly With Virga publishes $119 per hour for the Champ, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top. Fuel typically adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour, so compare a dry rate against a wet one carefully. PilotBound's estimate uses the published dry rate exactly as listed and does not add a guessed fuel figure. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Fly With Virga?
Fly With Virga trains Private Pilot. Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Fly With Virga's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Fly With Virga's published Champ and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Fly With Virga. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Fly With Virga? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Montana flight schools

All Montana flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.