PilotBound estimate · Carson City, NV · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at Sport Aviation Center costs

Website sportaviationcenter.com

Phone 775.772.8232

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Sport Aviation Center

$20,985

range $18K$23.9K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Sport Aviation Center's published rates: Sling 2 LSA at $190/hr + $85/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,695
at the hours students actually take$20,985

+$8,290 on Sport Aviation Center's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$18K$23.9K
Aircraft rental$13,680
Instruction$4,930
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$18,610
72 hrs in Sling 2 LSA @ $190/hr + 58 dual @ $85/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Sport Aviation Center's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Sport Aviation Center's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Sport Aviation Center publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Sling 2 LSA (N288SL, dual iEFIS glass)2014$190/hr wet
Sling 2 LSA (N521NG, dual iEFIS glass)2016$190/hr wet
Instruction$85/hr

Airframes built 2014 to 2016. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Published rates are wet, stated as including aircraft, headsets and fuel. Instruction is $85/hr, and the school's dual rate of $275/hr is that plus the $190 airplane. Ground time is billed at the same $85/hr and counts from when you arrive to when you leave; group ground is $50/hr per person. A flight simulator is $20/hr solo, or $105/hr with an instructor. A separate $190/hr instruction rate applies only in an owner's own aircraft and is not used here. Sport Aviation Center also trains weight-shift control trikes, which are a different aircraft category and are not priced in this estimate. It operates from Carson City and also flies from Reno.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Sport Aviation Center does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$330

Checked September 14, 2026

In a light sport aircraft. Typically an hour of flight and an hour on the ground.

Discovery flight prices in Nevada

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $20,985.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Nevada-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,985Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $20,985 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Sport Aviation Center's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Sport Aviation Center?
Sport Aviation Center publishes $190 per hour for the Sling 2 LSA and $85 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,985, in a range of $18,000 to $23,900. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Sport Aviation Center.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Sport Aviation Center?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Sport Aviation Center to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Sport Aviation Center a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Sport Aviation Center does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Sport Aviation Center's aircraft rates include fuel?
Sport Aviation Center publishes $190 per hour for the Sling 2 LSA, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Sport Aviation Center?
Sport Aviation Center trains Private Pilot. Instruction is $85 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Sport Aviation Center's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Sport Aviation Center's published Sling 2 LSA and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Sport Aviation Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Sport Aviation Center? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

2 other schools fly from Carson Airport.

All of them publish something, so you can compare before you call. CXP is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Nevada flight schools

All Nevada flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.