What flight training costs at Albuquerque flight schools

4 schools train out of Albuquerque. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

2 fields: Albuquerque International Sunport (ABQ) and Double Eagle II Airport (AEG). Updated October 16, 2026 · All New Mexico flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 4 of 4 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Albuquerque$17.4K$23.1K
  • Sharpes Aero

    Part not stated

    Albuquerque, NM·sharpesaero.com

    $200/hr aircraft (wet)·$60/hr instructor

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source

    Sharpes publishes one rate schedule covering its single airplane: rental includes fuel AND New Mexico state tax (the school puts that at about 8%), and flight and ground instruction are the same $60/hr. The airplane is referred to only as "The Pumpkin" and its make and model are not published anywhere on the site. The site also gives two different discovery-flight prices, $140 on the rate schedule and $180 on the discovery-flight page, so confirm which applies. A K-12 educator discount is offered. Headsets rent for $5/hr.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $20,255

    range $17.4K to $23.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planSharpes cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Bode Aviation

    Part not stated

    Albuquerque, NM·AEG·flybode.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Bode does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Bode
  • Del Sol Aviation

    Part not stated

    Albuquerque, NM·delsolaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Del Sol does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Del Sol
  • Kirtland Flight Center

    Part not stated

    Albuquerque, NM·ABQ·kirtlandflightcenter.org

    No PilotBound estimate

    Kirtland Flight Center does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Kirtland Flight Center

Estimates use the same method as every New Mexico school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Albuquerque, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Albuquerque school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$20,255
Published trainer rental, per hour
$200/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$60/hr
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 4

Lowest published trainer rates in Albuquerque

Airports with Albuquerque flight schools

Common questions about Albuquerque flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Albuquerque?

Sharpes Aero in Albuquerque is the one Albuquerque school here with a full published rate card: $200 per hour for its Single-engine trainer and $60 per hour for instruction, checked October 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,255. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Albuquerque flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Albuquerque is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Albuquerque are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Albuquerque airports have flight schools?

2 fields carry the listed schools: Albuquerque International Sunport (ABQ) with 2, and Double Eagle II Airport (AEG) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Albuquerque without one.