What flight training at Five Star Flight Academy costs
Glenville, NY · Checked October 12, 2026
Website 5starflight.com
Phone 914-406-0376
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Wet. The baseline trainer. Four tails, 140 to 160 hp.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Five Star Flight Academy
range $17.4K – $23.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Five Star Flight's published rates: Piper Cherokee 140 at $180/hr + $85/hr instruction, checked October 12, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,970 on Five Star Flight's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Five Star Flight Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Five Star Flight Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What Five Star Flight publishes
Checked October 12, 2026One family of Piper PA-28s, priced in two columns effective September 1, 2026: SUNY aviation students pay less and everyone else pays the figures here. The SUNY column runs $170 for the Cherokee 140 and the non-TAA Warrior, $195 for the TAA Warrior, $185 for the Archer and $220 for the Arrow, with instruction at $77/hr and $81/hr. All aircraft rates are marked wet.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Five Star Flight does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $20,265.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in New York. Top awards reach $22,200.
- RedTail Flight Academy Scholarship (New York)Amount varies · Hudson Valley · Open · closes in 15 days
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,265Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $20,265 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Five Star Flight's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Five Star Flight Academy?
Five Star Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 140 and $85 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,265, in a range of $17,400 to $23,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Five Star Flight Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Five Star Flight Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Five Star Flight Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Five Star Flight Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Five Star Flight Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Five Star Flight Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
Five Star Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 140, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Five Star Flight Academy?
Five Star Flight Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction runs $85 to $90 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Five Star Flight Academy's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use Five Star Flight Academy's published Piper Cherokee 140 and instructor rates (checked October 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Five Star Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Five Star Flight? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
2 other schools fly from Schenectady County Airport.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. SCH is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Richmor AviationFull rate card, Cessna 152 at $135/hr and $70/hr instructionScotia
- Professional Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesScotia
Other New York flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


