What flight training at Fargo Wings costs
Fargo, ND · Checked October 13, 2026
Website fargowings.com
Phone (701) 799-2844
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Fuel basis not stated. 180 hp, Garmin GI 275. $190/hr for flying club members.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Fargo Wings
range $19K – $25.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Fargo Wings's published rates: Piper Archer III at $210/hr + $80/hr instruction, checked October 13, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$8,800 on Fargo Wings's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Fargo Wings's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Fargo Wings's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What Fargo Wings publishes
Checked October 13, 2026Airframes built 1995 to 2007. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read November 3, 2026.
Rates are from the school's price list effective August 22, 2026, which does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $80/hr for flight and ground. Members of the school's flying club pay $20/hr less for each airplane.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Fargo Wings's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.
Discovery flight
$230
Checked October 13, 2026
A discovery or intro flight at the standard rate; the price list does not say how long it is.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $22,135.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No North Dakota-only awards in the directory yet.
- 45
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $22,135Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $22,135 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Fargo Wings's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Fargo Wings?
Fargo Wings publishes $210 per hour for the Piper Archer III and $80 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 13, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $22,135, in a range of $19,000 to $25,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Fargo Wings.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Fargo Wings?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Fargo Wings to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Fargo Wings a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Fargo Wings trains under Part 61, the flexible path. There is no FAA-approved syllabus to follow, so lessons can be scheduled around your life and adapted to your pace. The tradeoff is a slightly higher paper minimum for the private certificate (40 hours versus 35) and, for most students, no VA benefit eligibility.
Do Fargo Wings's aircraft rates include fuel?
Fargo Wings publishes $210 per hour for the Piper Archer III, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked October 13, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Fargo Wings?
Fargo Wings trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $80 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Fargo Wings's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use Fargo Wings's published Piper Archer III and instructor rates (checked October 13, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Fargo Wings. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Fargo Wings? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


