PilotBound estimate · Quakertown, PA · Checked September 16, 2026

What flight training at Penn Flight School costs

Website pennflight.com

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

$200/hr with a deposit.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Penn Flight School

$21,485

range $18.5K – $24.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Penn Flight's published rates: Piper PA-28-181 Archer at $205/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,975
at the hours students actually take$21,485

+$8,510 on Penn Flight's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$18.5K – $24.5K
Aircraft rental$14,760
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$19,110
72 hrs in Piper PA-28-181 Archer @ $205/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Penn Flight School's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Penn Flight School's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Penn Flight publishes

checked September 16, 2026
Piper PA-28-181 Archer$200/hr with a deposit.$205/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28-181 Archer$225/hr with a deposit.$230/hr fuel basis not stated
Twin$445/hr with a deposit. Multi-engine instruction in it is $85/hr.$450/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $75/hr · multi-engine instruction $85/hr$75 – $85/hr

Penn Flight prices every aircraft twice, at a standard rate and $5/hr less with a deposit whose size the site does not state. This estimate uses the standard rate. Multi-engine instruction is $85/hr against $75/hr for single-engine.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Penn Flight's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.

Section 3Discovery flight

$249

Checked September 16, 2026

30 minutes of ground school and 45 to 50 minutes in the air.

Discovery flight prices in Pennsylvania

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $21,485.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Pennsylvania-only awards in the directory yet.
51
Money you pay backLenders that cover $21,485Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $21,485 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6In the app

Track it against Penn Flight's rates.

Penn Flight School's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Penn Flight when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 7What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Penn Flight's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 8Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Penn Flight School?
Penn Flight School publishes $205 per hour for the Piper PA-28-181 Archer and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,485, in a range of $18,500 to $24,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Penn Flight School.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Penn Flight School?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Penn Flight School to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Penn Flight School a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Penn Flight School trains under Part 61, the flexible path. There is no FAA-approved syllabus to follow, so lessons can be scheduled around your life and adapted to your pace. The tradeoff is a slightly higher paper minimum for the private certificate (40 hours versus 35) and, for most students, no VA benefit eligibility.
Do Penn Flight School's aircraft rates include fuel?
Penn Flight School publishes $205 per hour for the Piper PA-28-181 Archer, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Penn Flight School?
Penn Flight School trains Private Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction runs $75 to $85 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Penn Flight School's own published rates.

Section 9Sources

Estimates use Penn Flight School's published Piper PA-28-181 Archer and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Penn Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Penn Flight? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

Other Pennsylvania flight schools

All Pennsylvania flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.