Published rates, sourced · Updated September 5, 2026
What flight training costs at Spartanburg flight schools
4 schools train out of Spartanburg. One publishes a full rate card, shown with the source and the date it was read, next to a PilotBound estimate for your Private pilot certificate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
Pivotal Aviation in Spartanburg is the one Spartanburg school here with a full published rate card: $135 per hour for its Piper Cherokee 140 plus $49 per hour instruction, a PilotBound private pilot estimate of about $14,937.
One field: Spartanburg Downtown Memorial Airport (SPA). Whole state instead? South Carolina flight schools
Flight school costs in Spartanburg, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Spartanburg school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- $14,937
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $135/hr
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $49/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- 1 of 4
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
Lowest published trainer rates in Spartanburg
- Pivotal Aviation · $135/hr Piper Cherokee 140, Spartanburg
Airports with Spartanburg flight schools
- Spartanburg Downtown Memorial Airport (SPA)Aero II·Aloft Aviation Services·Fly M.K. Leighton·Pivotal Aviation
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Private estimate range across Spartanburg
Pivotal Aviation
Part not statedSpartanburg, SC·flypivotal.com
Published rates
$135/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)+$49/hr instructor
Checked September 5, 2026·Source
Pivotal charges the same $49/hr for flight and for ground instruction, which is the lowest instruction rate in this directory. Block time discounts are offered on both. Gliders are not priced by this estimator. The site does not say whether the aircraft rates include fuel.
PilotBound estimate · Private
$14,937
range $12.8K – $17K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPivotal cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Aero II
Part 61Spartanburg, SC·SPA·aero2academy.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aero II does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Aloft Aviation Services
Part 61Spartanburg, SC·SPA·aloftaviationservices.com
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
Aloft does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →Fly M.K. Leighton
Part 61Spartanburg, SC·SPA·flymkleighton.net
Published rates
aircraft rate not published+instructor rate not published
No PilotBound estimate
M.K. Leighton does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
Nothing to total without it.
See what to ask themWhat they do publish →
Flight schools in other South Carolina cities
- Greenville · 6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hilton Head Island · 3 schools
- North Charleston · 3 schools, 1 with rates
- Sumter · 3 schools
All South Carolina flight schoolsFlight school costs by state
Common questions about Spartanburg flight schools
- How much does flight school cost in Spartanburg?
- Pivotal Aviation in Spartanburg is the one Spartanburg school here with a full published rate card: $135 per hour for its Piper Cherokee 140 and $49 per hour for instruction, checked September 5, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $14,937. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
- How current are these Spartanburg flight school rates?
- Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Spartanburg is September 5, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Spartanburg are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
- Which Spartanburg airports have flight schools?
- One field carries the listed schools: Spartanburg Downtown Memorial Airport (SPA) with 4. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Spartanburg without one.
Estimates use the same method as every South Carolina school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy