Rates partly published · Chesapeake, VA

Flight training at GreyCat Aviation

No aircraft rate. GreyCat publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and a $80/hr instructor rate and nothing for the airplanes, so there is no total on this page.

Checked August 13, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, GreyCat Aviation at KPVG.

Based at
Hampton Roads Executive Airport(PVG)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · CFI · CFII
Phone
(757) 503-7772
Website
greycataviation.com

Section 1What is published

GreyCat's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

GreyCat Aviation published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Piper J-5A Cub Cruiser$175/hr1941 tailwheel. Tailwheel endorsement training only.
Boeing PT-17 Stearman$400/hr1943 biplane. Tailwheel endorsement training only.

Flight instruction: $80/hr

GreyCat's two aircraft are a 1941 Cub Cruiser and a 1943 Stearman, both flown for tailwheel training rather than as trainers for the certificates it teaches. Its own page quotes ground and flight instruction at $80 per hour on the flight-instruction page and at $75 per hour in the Stearman section of the tailwheel page.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an aircraft rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With the airplanes unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Aircraft rateMissing from their site

    The airplane is the biggest line on a training bill.

What to compare their answer against

Not GreyCat's rates. The middle of what 14 Virginia schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $90 to $225 per hour.
$165
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 14 schools with published rates.
$69

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. GreyCat is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 1 in Virginia. Top awards reach $22,200.
52
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what GreyCat's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What is the hourly rate on your cheapest trainer, and which airplane is that?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site, and it is the largest line on your bill.

  2. Is that rate wet or dry, meaning does it include fuel?Missing from their site

    A dry rate and a wet rate are not comparable. Dry rates can run $40 to $60 an hour lower for the same airplane.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. If I do not own an aircraft, what would I train in and what does it rent for?Missing from their site

    GreyCat's own framing is instruction "in the comfort of your own airplane". Its two published aircraft are vintage tailwheels for endorsements, so there is no rate for a trainer to take a Private or an Instrument rating in.

  5. Is instruction $80 per hour or $75 per hour?

    The site quotes both figures on different pages.

  6. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  7. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  8. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and GreyCat Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5In the app

Track your training at GreyCat.

GreyCat Aviation is in the PilotBound app. Choose GreyCat when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 6Nearby schools

3 other schools fly from Hampton Roads Executive Airport.

None of them publishes a rate, so every one is a phone call. PVG is the identifier to give when you ask.

14 Virginia schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 7Sources

That the school exists
AOPA flight school finder, GreyCat Aviation at KPVGChecked August 13, 2026
The rates above
GreyCat Aviation flight instruction pageChecked September 13, 2026

Are you GreyCat Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What your aircraft rent for per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by GreyCat Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Virginia flight schools

All Virginia flight schoolsAll Chesapeake flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.