What flight training costs at Chesapeake flight schools
6 schools train out of Chesapeake. None publishes a full rate card, so each is listed with what it does publish.
2 fields: Hampton Roads Executive Airport (PVG) and Chesapeake Regional Airport (CPK). Updated September 13, 2026 · All Virginia flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Epix Aviation
Part 61 & 141Chesapeake, VA·CPK·epixaviation.com
$135/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·11 aircraft published
Two further aircraft, a Piper Arrow (N1425T) and a Piper Super Cruiser PA-12 (N2901M), are listed as on hiatus with no rate.
GreyCat Aviation
Part not statedChesapeake, VA·PVG·greycataviation.com
$175/hr aircraft·$80/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published
GreyCat's two aircraft are a 1941 Cub Cruiser and a 1943 Stearman, both flown for tailwheel training rather than as trainers for the certificates it teaches. Its own page quotes ground and flight instruction at $80 per hour on the flight-instruction page and at $75 per hour in the Stearman section of the tailwheel page.
Horizon Aviation Services
Part 61 & 141Chesapeake, VA·CPK·horizonflightcenter.com
No PilotBound estimate
Horizon does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask HorizonNorfolk Flight Center
Part not statedChesapeake, VA·PVG·norfolkflightcenter.com
No PilotBound estimate
Norfolk Flight Center does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Norfolk Flight CenterPrevailance Aerospace
Part not statedChesapeake, VA·PVG·prevailanceaerospace.com
No PilotBound estimate
Prevailance does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask PrevailanceSafe Flight Aviation
Part not statedChesapeake, VA·PVG·safeflightaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Safe Flight does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Safe Flight
Estimates use the same method as every Virginia school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Chesapeake, in numbers
None of the 6 Chesapeake schools listed here publishes a full rate card, so there is no rate range and no estimate here, and nothing below is a figure.
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 0 of 6
Part 141 flight schools in Chesapeake
Airports with Chesapeake flight schools
Flight schools in other Virginia cities.
Common questions about Chesapeake flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Chesapeake?
None of the 6 Chesapeake schools we track publishes a complete rate card, so we do not estimate a figure rather than guess one. Each listing shows what the school does publish and the exact questions to ask when you call, checked September 13, 2026.
Which Chesapeake airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Hampton Roads Executive Airport (PVG) with 4, and Chesapeake Regional Airport (CPK) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Chesapeake without one.
