What flight training costs at Abingdon flight schools
3 schools train out of Abingdon. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Virginia Highlands Airport (VJI). Updated September 13, 2026 · All Virginia flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Highlands Aero Flight Center
Part not statedAbingdon, VA·highlandsaero.com
$155/hr aircraft (wet)·$60/hr instructor
Checked September 12, 2026·Source
Highlands Aero's fleet page gives the Alpha Trainer as $155 to $165 per hour and its course pages quote $155; the lower, repeated figure is used here. The Alpha Trainer is a two-seat light-sport aircraft and is the school's only aircraft, so the instrument and commercial training it advertises would not be flown in it. Block rates of $1,500 for 10 hours, $3,600 for 25 and $7,000 for 50 are published as an alternative.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$17,015
range $14.6K to $19.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planHighlands Aero cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Dorton Aviation
Part not statedAbingdon, VA·VJI·dortonaviation.com
$185/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
A VIs X flight simulator rents for $30 per hour.
Icarus Time Building & Rentals
Part not statedAbingdon, VA·VJI·icarus-tbr.com
$125/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published
Icarus sells prepaid blocks with a bonus credit, $150 on a small block and $1,000 on a big one; the funds do not expire and can be spent at the solo rate. Only the RV-12 is explicitly stated wet.
Estimates use the same method as every Virginia school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Abingdon, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Abingdon school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $17,015
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $155/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $60 to $70
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Abingdon
Airports with Abingdon flight schools
Virginia Highlands Airport VJI
Dorton AviationHighlands Aero Flight CenterIcarus Time Building & Rentals
Flight schools in other Virginia cities.
Common questions about Abingdon flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Abingdon?
Highlands Aero Flight Center in Abingdon is the one Abingdon school here with a full published rate card: $155 per hour for its Pipistrel Alpha Trainer and $60 per hour for instruction, checked September 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,015. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Abingdon flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Abingdon is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Abingdon are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Abingdon airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Virginia Highlands Airport (VJI) with 3. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Abingdon without one.
