What flight training costs at Richmond flight schools
3 schools train out of Richmond. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
2 fields: Richmond International Airport (RIC) and Richmond Executive-Chesterfield County Airport (FCI). Updated September 12, 2026 · All Virginia flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
RVA Flyers
Part not statedRichmond, VA·rvaflyers.com
$139/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$95/hr instructor
Checked September 12, 2026·Source
RVA Flyers does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$17,893
range $15.4K to $20.4K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planRVA Flyers cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Dominion Aviation Services
Part not statedRichmond, VA·FCI·dominionaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Dominion does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask DominionRichmond Executive Aviation
Part not statedRichmond, VA·RIC·iflyrea.com
No PilotBound estimate
Richmond Executive does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Richmond Executive
Estimates use the same method as every Virginia school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Richmond, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Richmond school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $17,893
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $139/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $95/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Richmond
Airports with Richmond flight schools
Richmond International Airport RIC
Richmond Executive-Chesterfield County Airport FCI
Flight schools in other Virginia cities.
Common questions about Richmond flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Richmond?
RVA Flyers in Richmond is the one Richmond school here with a full published rate card: $139 per hour for its Diamond DA20 and $95 per hour for instruction, checked September 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,893. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Richmond flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Richmond is September 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Richmond are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Richmond airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Richmond International Airport (RIC) with 2, and Richmond Executive-Chesterfield County Airport (FCI) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Richmond without one.
