What flight training at On Final Aviation costs
Jonesboro, AR · Checked October 20, 2026
Website onfinalaviation.com
Phone 870-919-5026
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
1970 airframe upgraded to 160 HP, IFR certified. Garmin GTN-355 WAAS, dual G5 attitude and heading indicators, WX-8 Stormscope, Century I wing leveler, four-place intercom, ADS-B Out.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at On Final Aviation
range $16.9K – $22.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on On Final's published rates: Piper Cherokee 140 at $200/hr + $50/hr instruction, checked October 20, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,700 on On Final's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on On Final Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not On Final Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What On Final publishes
Checked October 20, 2026Airframes built 1970 to 1977. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read November 3, 2026.
Rates are wet, and On Final charges no membership and no monthly dues. Three of the four airplanes share one rate; the Cherokee 181 is dearer and sits at Paragould rather than Jonesboro. One of the three cheaper airplanes is VFR only.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. On Final does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $19,675.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Arkansas-only awards in the directory yet.
- 45
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,675All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $19,675 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what On Final's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at On Final Aviation?
On Final Aviation publishes $200 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 140 and $50 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 20, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,675, in a range of $16,900 to $22,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from On Final Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at On Final Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at On Final Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is On Final Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
On Final Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do On Final Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
On Final Aviation publishes $200 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 140, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 20, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at On Final Aviation?
On Final Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $50 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on On Final Aviation's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use On Final Aviation's published Piper Cherokee 140 and instructor rates (checked October 20, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by On Final Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you On Final? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
Other Arkansas flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


