Flight training at Carter Flygare, Inc.

Sacramento, CA · Rates partly published

No instructor rate. Carter Flygare publishes rates for all 7 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 1, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, Carter Flygare, Inc. at SAC.

Based at
Sacramento Exec Airport(SAC)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Website
cfi.com

What is published

Carter Flygare's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Carter Flygare, Inc. published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 152 (N48762)1979$160/hrSingle nav/comm, GX55 GPS. Two-seat.
Cessna 152 (N89702)1978$170/hrSingle nav/comm, GX55 GPS. N5236H is the same price with dual nav/comms and a GNS430W.
Cessna 172N Skyhawk (N738YL)1978$220/hrDual nav/comms, autopilot, GNS430W.
Cessna 172N Skyhawk (N738KC)1977$230/hrGTN750W. N737MF and the 172Ps N55521 and N63352 are the same price.
Cessna 172P Delta Hawk (N733QG)1976$250/hrAutopilot, GTN750W.
Beechcraft 35-B33 Debonair (N3300F)1962$295/hrRetractable, so this is the complex airplane.
Piper PA-44 Seminole (N8154J)1980$475/hrThe twin.

Airframes built 1962 to 1980. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.

Eleven aircraft priced individually, with the avionics listed against each one, and the page does not say whether fuel is included. INSTRUCTION IS PRICED BY THE INSTRUCTOR'S GRADE rather than by what you are training for: $55/hr with a basic advanced flight instructor, $65/hr with a flight instructor, and $70 or $75/hr with one of the two Gold Seal chief pilots, each for ground or flight. Two surcharges sit on top of whichever you pick: $5/hr if you fly your own aircraft and another $5/hr for multi-engine instruction.

Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Carter Flygare's rates. The middle of what 65 California schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $95 to $269 per hour.
$160
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 65 schools with published rates.
$80

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Carter Flygare is not in it.

Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
51
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Carter Flygare's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. Which instructor grade would I actually be assigned, and at what rate?Missing from their site

    Instruction is priced by the instructor's grade, from $55 to $75 an hour, and nothing on the site says who a new student gets.

  5. Do the aircraft rates include fuel?

    Each aircraft is priced with its avionics listed and no wet or dry wording anywhere.

  6. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  7. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  8. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Carter Flygare, Inc. gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

In the app

Track your training at Carter Flygare.

Carter Flygare, Inc. is in the PilotBound app. Choose Carter Flygare when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Nearby schools

2 other schools fly from Sacramento Executive Airport.

1 of them publishes at least one rate. SAC is the identifier to give when you ask.

65 California schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Sources

That the school exists
AOPA flight school finder, Carter Flygare, Inc. at SACChecked September 1, 2026
The rates above
Carter Flygare fleet ratesChecked September 13, 2026

Are you Carter Flygare, Inc.? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Carter Flygare, Inc.. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.