PilotBound estimate · Pacoima, CA · Checked September 16, 2026

What flight training at Vista Air Inc. costs

Website vistaair.com

Phone 818-896-5224

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The lowest-cost 172; block rate $142.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Vista Air Inc.

$15,569

range $13.4K – $17.7K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Vista Air's published rates: Cessna 172L Skyhawk at $147/hr + $45/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,695
at the hours students actually take$15,569

+$5,874 on Vista Air's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$13.4K – $17.7K
Aircraft rental$10,584
Instruction$2,610
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$13,194
72 hrs in Cessna 172L Skyhawk @ $147/hr + 58 dual @ $45/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Vista Air Inc.'s published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Vista Air Inc.'s prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Vista Air publishes

checked September 16, 2026
Cessna 172L Skyhawk (1972, N19688)1972The lowest-cost 172; block rate $142.$147/hr wet
Cessna 172R Skyhawk (1998, N26504)1998Block rate $147.$154/hr wet
Cessna 172S Skyhawk (2001, N828SP)2001Block rate $157.$163/hr wet
Cessna 172R/S Skyhawk (N21SZ, N7744S, N326LP, N501ER, N48EF, N5262Y)1998The main 172 line, six tails at $175 (block $169).$175/hr wet
Cessna 172RG Cutlass (1981, N6403V, retractable)1980Complex/retractable, for the commercial complex hours; block rate $146.$152/hr wet
Cessna 182R Skylane (1985, N94MN)1985High-performance; block rate $189.$196/hr wet
Redbird LD Flight SimulatorAATD sim, billed on Hobbs.$80/hr wet
Instruction$45/hr

Airframes built 1972 to 2001. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 4, 2026.

Rates are wet (fuel included). Each airplane has a lower block rate (prepaid hours), shown per aircraft (about $5 to $7/hr less). The instructor rate is not on the fleet page; the flight-training page lists instruction around $45 to $50/hr, so confirm the current CFI rate.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Vista Air does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $15,569.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
52
Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,569All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $15,569 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6In the app

Track it against Vista Air's rates.

Vista Air Inc.'s rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Vista Air when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 7What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Vista Air's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 8Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Vista Air Inc.?
Vista Air Inc. publishes $147 per hour for the Cessna 172L Skyhawk and $45 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,569, in a range of $13,400 to $17,700. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Vista Air Inc..
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Vista Air Inc.?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Vista Air Inc. to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Vista Air Inc. a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Vista Air Inc. does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Vista Air Inc.'s aircraft rates include fuel?
Vista Air Inc. publishes $147 per hour for the Cessna 172L Skyhawk, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Vista Air Inc.?
Vista Air Inc. trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $45 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Vista Air Inc.'s own published rates.

Section 9Sources

Estimates use Vista Air Inc.'s published Cessna 172L Skyhawk and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Vista Air Inc.. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Vista Air? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other California flight schools

All California flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.