What flight training costs at Northern Colorado Regional (FNL)
3 schools train at Northern Colorado Regional Airport, Loveland. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
Updated September 16, 2026 · All Colorado flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Leading Edge Flight Training
Part not statedLowest in COLargest fleetLoveland, CO·leflighttraining.com
$170/hr aircraft (wet)·$70/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Leading Edge also sells a flat-rate Private Pilot package (about $14,580 before tax) covering 52 aircraft hours, 40 hours of flight instruction, and 42 hours of ground, built on their standard $170/hr aircraft and $70/hr instruction rates. Hours beyond the package bill at those same rates.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$18,675
range $16.1K to $21.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planLeading Edge cost breakdown →Colorado Sport Pilot
Part not statedLoveland, CO·coloradosportpilot.org
$195/hr aircraft (wet)·$60/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
PilotBound estimate, Private
$19,895
range $17.1K to $22.7K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planColorado Sport Pilot cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Mountain Flying Aviation
Part not statedFort Collins, CO·FNL·jerslash.net
No PilotBound estimate
Mountain Flying does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Mountain Flying
Estimates use the same method as every Colorado school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Discovery flights at FNL 1
Colorado discovery flights →Leading Edge Flight Training · Loveland
Checked September 16, 2026Source
$150
Flight school costs at Northern Colorado Regional, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Northern Colorado Regional schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $19,285
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $170 to $195
- Published instruction, per hour
- $60 to $70
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates at Northern Colorado Regional
Other Colorado airports with flight schools.
Common questions about flight schools at FNL
How much does flight school cost at Northern Colorado Regional?
Across the 2 Northern Colorado Regional flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $170 to $195 per hour and instruction $60 to $70 per hour, checked as recently as September 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $18,675 and $19,895, with a median of $19,285. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school at Northern Colorado Regional?
Leading Edge Flight Training in Loveland publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Northern Colorado Regional schools listed here, $170 per hour for its Diamond DA40, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure, checked September 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Northern Colorado Regional flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Northern Colorado Regional is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school at Northern Colorado Regional is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Can I take a discovery flight at FNL?
One of the 3 schools at Northern Colorado Regional Airport publishes a discovery flight price: Leading Edge Flight Training at $150, checked September 16, 2026. Each is the school's own published price, and the listing says what it includes.
