Rates partly published · Miami, FL
Flight training at MB Airworks
No instructor rate. MB Airworks publishes rates for all 2 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 1, 2026 against AOPA flight school finder, MB Airworks at TMB.
- Based at
- Miami Exec Airport(TMB)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Website
- mbairworks.com
Section 1What is published
MB Airworks's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172N (N734HJ, 1977)1977 | $105/hrdry | "The Essential". $165/hr wet. Priced on Hobbs time. |
| Cessna 172P 180hp (N53037, 1981) | $120/hrdry | "The Executive". $185/hr wet. Priced on Hobbs time. |
Airframe built 1977. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 13, 2026.
A rental operation publishing dry AND wet rates per tail (from $105/hr dry at the low end) for 'Part 61 training with your independent CFI': it rents airplanes and employs no instructors, so an instruction rate cannot exist here.
Section 2Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not MB Airworks's rates. The middle of what 41 Florida schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $105 to $380 per hour.
- $169
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 41 schools with published rates.
- $69
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. MB Airworks is not in it.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 2 in Florida. Top awards reach $22,200.
- CFBAA Foundation ScholarshipAmount varies · Check dates
- James C. Ray Flight Training Scholarship (ACE)Amount varies · Polk County · Opens Oct 1
- 48
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 4What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what MB Airworks's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?
The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and MB Airworks gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 5Nearby schools
9 other schools fly from Miami Exec Airport.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. TMB is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Pilot Training CenterFull rate card, Cessna 172M at $165/hr and $60/hr instructionMiami
- ADF Airways AcademyPublishes no ratesMiami
- AeroService Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesMiami
- Americana Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesMiami
- Aviator Zone AcademyPublishes no ratesMiami
- Endeavour Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesMiami
- Flying Academy MiamiPublishes no ratesMiami
- Miami FlyPublishes no ratesMiami
- Yoanna Flight SchoolPublishes no ratesMiami
41 Florida schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- A-Cent AviationJacksonville & Fernandina Beach, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$125/hr$65/hr instruction
- Aerosmith AviationPanama City, FL · Checked September 1, 2026$200/hr$75/hr instruction
- AMS Flight SchoolMilton, FL · Checked September 12, 2026$195/hr$60 to $65/hr instruction
- ATA Flight SchoolFort Lauderdale, FL · Checked September 1, 2026$175/hr$60/hr instruction
- Aviator Training CenterLantana, FL · Checked September 1, 2026$155/hr$60/hr instruction
- Bartow Flying ServiceBartow, FL · Checked September 1, 2026$150/hr$55/hr instruction
Section 6Sources
- That the school exists
- AOPA flight school finder, MB Airworks at TMBChecked September 1, 2026
- The rates above
- MB Airworks fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you MB Airworks? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by MB Airworks. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Florida flight schools
- A-Cent Aviation · Jacksonville & Fernandina Beach
- Aamro Aviation · West Palm Beach
- Academic Flight · Sarasota
- ADF Airways Academy · Miami
- AeroService Flight Training · Miami
- Aerosmith Aviation · Panama City
- AeroStar Training Services · Kissimmee
- Aguayo Aerosports · Daytona Beach
- Air America Flight Center · Daytona Beach
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.