PilotBound estimate · Atlanta, GA · Checked August 31, 2026
What flight training at Quality Aviation costs
Website qualityaviation.net
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Quality Aviation
range $17.6K – $23.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Quality's published rates: Beechcraft Sundowner BE-23 at $175/hr + $95/hr instruction, checked August 31, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$8,070 on Quality's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Quality Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Quality Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Quality publishes
checked August 31, 2026Airframes built 1975 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
The school's rate page marks these rates effective January 1, 2020, and has not been updated since, so confirm them before budgeting. Instruction is $95/hr for primary and advanced and $105/hr for multi-engine; instruction in your own aircraft runs higher and is not used here.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Quality's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Quality does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $20,485.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Georgia-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,485Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $20,485 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Quality's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Quality Aviation?
- Quality Aviation publishes $175 per hour for the Beechcraft Sundowner BE-23 and $95 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 31, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,485, in a range of $17,600 to $23,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Quality Aviation.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Quality Aviation?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Quality Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Quality Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Quality Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Quality Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Quality Aviation publishes $175 per hour for the Beechcraft Sundowner BE-23, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked August 31, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Quality Aviation?
- Quality Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction runs $95 to $105 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Quality Aviation's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Quality Aviation's published Beechcraft Sundowner BE-23 and instructor rates (checked August 31, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Quality Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Quality? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
5 other schools fly from DeKalb Peachtree Airport.
3 of them publish at least one rate. PDK is the identifier to give when you ask.
- All2Fly Aviation AcademyFull rate card, Cessna 172M at $155/hr and $60/hr instructionAtlanta (Chamblee)
- Centennial Aviation AcademyFull rate card, Piper PA-28-151 Warrior at $239/hr and $99/hr instructionAtlanta (Chamblee)
- Skybound AviationFull rate card, Piper PA-28-181 Archer at $205/hr and $70 to $75/hr instructionAtlanta (Chamblee)
- Atlanta PilotPublishes no ratesAtlanta
- NSPIRE AviationPublishes no ratesAtlanta
Other Georgia flight schools
- A.I.R. Flight Academy · Lawrenceville
- Ace Aviation Services · Rome
- Advanced Aviation · Lawrenceville
- Aero Atlanta Flight Center · Kennesaw
- Aero Science Flight School · Augusta
- AeroFlight Services · Perry
- Air Adventures Flight Instruction · Calhoun
- Airventures · Columbus
- All2Fly Aviation Academy · Atlanta (Chamblee)
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.