PilotBound estimate · Batesville, MS · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at New Heights Aviation costs

Website flynha.com

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

A two-seater, and much the cheapest aircraft here.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at New Heights Aviation

$14,713

range $12.7K$16.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on New Heights's published rates: Cessna 150 at $119/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,215
at the hours students actually take$14,713

+$5,498 on New Heights's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$12.7K$16.8K
Aircraft rental$8,568
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$12,338
72 hrs in Cessna 150 @ $119/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on New Heights Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not New Heights Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What New Heights publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 150 (N19564)1973A two-seater, and much the cheapest aircraft here.$119/hr fuel basis not stated
American Champion 7ECA (N1831G)1968Tailwheel.$125/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28-160 (N219BJ)1967$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28-140 (N1638J)1967$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$65/hr

Airframes built 1967 to 1973. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Instruction is $65/hr for ground and flight alike, and $75/hr if you fly your own aircraft, which is the reverse of the usual arrangement and worth knowing if you own one. The site does not say whether rental includes fuel. A simulator is $45/hr and is not modeled. New Heights states that prices exclude checkride fees, and makes a point of not running the clock unnecessarily.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. New Heights's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. New Heights does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$179

Checked September 14, 2026

30 minutes of flight with preflight ground training. Another 30 minutes is $75 more.

Discovery flight prices in Mississippi

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $14,713.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Mississippi-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $14,713All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $14,713 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what New Heights's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at New Heights Aviation?
New Heights Aviation publishes $119 per hour for the Cessna 150 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $14,713, in a range of $12,700 to $16,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from New Heights Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at New Heights Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at New Heights Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is New Heights Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
New Heights Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do New Heights Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
New Heights Aviation publishes $119 per hour for the Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at New Heights Aviation?
New Heights Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on New Heights Aviation's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use New Heights Aviation's published Cessna 150 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by New Heights Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you New Heights? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Mississippi flight schools

All Mississippi flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.