PilotBound estimate · Jefferson City, MO · Checked September 9, 2026

What flight training at Jefferson City Flying Service costs

Website jcfs.net

Phone (573) 636-5118

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat trainer, the cheapest line on the fleet page.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Jefferson City Flying Service

$14,785

range $12.7K$16.9K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Jefferson City Flying Service's published rates: Cessna 150 at $120/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 9, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,255
at the hours students actually take$14,785

+$5,530 on Jefferson City Flying Service's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$12.7K$16.9K
Aircraft rental$8,640
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$12,410
72 hrs in Cessna 150 @ $120/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Jefferson City Flying Service's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Jefferson City Flying Service's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Jefferson City Flying Service publishes

checked September 9, 2026
Cessna 150 (N56QW)1976Two-seat trainer, the cheapest line on the fleet page.$120/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Warrior (N8222F)1980One of the primary trainers for Private and Instrument students.$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Warrior (N43060)1983$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Warrior (N47491)1977$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Warrior (N8248T)1980$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 Skyhawk (N5213F)2002$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Archer III (N626MA)1996A step up in power over the Warrior.$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-28 Arrow IV (N82136)Retractable gear and constant-speed prop. The complex aircraft for the Commercial, priced at 10 hours on that course sheet.$270/hr fuel basis not stated
Beechcraft Baron 55 (N29RK)1982Twin. Priced on the fleet page, but no multi-engine course is published.$565/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$65/hr

Airframes built 1976 to 2002. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Nine aircraft across six types are priced per tail on the fleet page, which says the rates are per flight hour and does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is $65/hr and ground instruction is billed at the same figure; both come from the course price sheets, which were updated July 1, 2026. Sales tax is charged on aircraft rental and materials. The school's own Private estimate is built on 55 flight hours rather than the 40 hour minimum.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Jefferson City Flying Service's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Jefferson City Flying Service does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $14,785.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Missouri-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $14,785All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $14,785 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Jefferson City Flying Service's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Jefferson City Flying Service?
Jefferson City Flying Service publishes $120 per hour for the Cessna 150 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 9, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $14,785, in a range of $12,700 to $16,900. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Jefferson City Flying Service.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Jefferson City Flying Service?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Jefferson City Flying Service to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Jefferson City Flying Service a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Jefferson City Flying Service does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Jefferson City Flying Service's aircraft rates include fuel?
Jefferson City Flying Service publishes $120 per hour for the Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 9, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Jefferson City Flying Service?
Jefferson City Flying Service trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Jefferson City Flying Service's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Jefferson City Flying Service's published Cessna 150 and instructor rates (checked September 9, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Jefferson City Flying Service. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Jefferson City Flying Service? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Missouri flight schools

All Missouri flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.