PilotBound estimate · Las Vegas, NV · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at Pilot Training Las Vegas costs

Website pilottraininglv.com

Phone 702-372-7552

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The lowest-cost tail. Listed with ADS-B In and Out only, while the other three are listed as IFR certified, so the instrument and commercial legs default to a $195 airplane.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Pilot Training Las Vegas

$19,755

range $17K$22.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Pilot Training LV's published rates: Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G at $185/hr + $70/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,015
at the hours students actually take$19,755

+$7,740 on Pilot Training LV's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17K$22.5K
Aircraft rental$13,320
Instruction$4,060
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,380
72 hrs in Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G @ $185/hr + 58 dual @ $70/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Pilot Training Las Vegas's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Pilot Training Las Vegas's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Pilot Training LV publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G (N2395T)1971The lowest-cost tail. Listed with ADS-B In and Out only, while the other three are listed as IFR certified, so the instrument and commercial legs default to a $195 airplane.$185/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Cherokee PA-28-140B (N5816U)1970160hp STC, dual Garmin G5, Garmin 355W GPS. IFR certified.$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Cherokee PA-28-180D (N7713N)1968Dual Garmin G5, Garmin GTN 650Xi. IFR certified.$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Cherokee PA-28-180E (N3653R)1970Dual Garmin G5, Garmin GTN 650Xi. IFR certified.$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Apache PA-23-150 (N1487P)The twin, for the multi-engine rating. Dual Garmin G5, GTN 650Xi, IFR certified.$395/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$70/hr

Airframes built 1968 to 1971. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

The site never says whether these rates include fuel. Instruction is $70/hr in Pilot Training's own aircraft, which is what this estimate uses, on the twin as well as the singles. Two higher tiers are published and not used: $85/hr for instruction in an aircraft Pilot Training does not own, which does not apply to its rental fleet, and $85/hr for ground or flight with the chief CFI, who is the school's multi-engine instructor. Regular ground-school attendees are not billed for pre-flight and post-flight briefings. Pilot Training also sells a 14-day accelerated private course at $17,600 ($9,800 instruction plus $7,800 for 40 hours in a Cherokee) with a $1,500 deposit, which this hourly estimate does not model.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Pilot Training LV's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $19,755.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Nevada-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,755All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $19,755 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Pilot Training LV's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Pilot Training Las Vegas?
Pilot Training Las Vegas publishes $185 per hour for the Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G and $70 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,755, in a range of $17,000 to $22,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Pilot Training Las Vegas.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Pilot Training Las Vegas?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Pilot Training Las Vegas to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Pilot Training Las Vegas a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Pilot Training Las Vegas trains under Part 61, the flexible path. There is no FAA-approved syllabus to follow, so lessons can be scheduled around your life and adapted to your pace. The tradeoff is a slightly higher paper minimum for the private certificate (40 hours versus 35) and, for most students, no VA benefit eligibility.
Do Pilot Training Las Vegas's aircraft rates include fuel?
Pilot Training Las Vegas publishes $185 per hour for the Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Pilot Training Las Vegas?
Pilot Training Las Vegas trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $70 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Pilot Training Las Vegas's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Pilot Training Las Vegas's published Piper Cherokee PA-28-180G and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Pilot Training Las Vegas. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Pilot Training LV? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

7 other schools fly from North Las Vegas Airport.

4 of them publish at least one rate. VGT is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Nevada flight schools

All Nevada flight schoolsAll Las Vegas flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.