PilotBound estimate · Hamilton, OH · Checked September 8, 2026
What flight training at Blue Sky Flight Training costs
Website blueskyflighttraining.com
Phone 513-895-2583
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
1985, 160 HP. Full IFR: Garmin GTN 650Xi, G5 HSI, 255B NAV/COM, GTX 345 ADS-B in and out.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Blue Sky Flight Training
range $13.7K – $18.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Blue Sky's published rates: Cessna 172P at $151/hr + $47/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,054 on Blue Sky's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Blue Sky Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Blue Sky Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Blue Sky publishes
checked September 8, 2026Airframes built 1978 to 1985. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
Both aircraft are the same price, and the page for one of them says "(No additional fees)", though the site never states whether fuel is included. Instruction is tiered by what you are training for: $47/hr while you are a student pilot working toward the Private, $53/hr for every other rating and endorsement. Only ONE of the two aircraft is IFR equipped; the other is VFR only, with an IFR certification and GPS upgrade described as coming, so confirm before planning instrument training around the cheaper-looking fleet. Multi-engine, complex, high-performance, high-altitude and tailwheel training are all offered IN YOUR OWN AIRCRAFT, so none of them are priced here.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Blue Sky's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Blue Sky does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Discovery flight
Section 4Paying for it
Two ways to cover $15,973.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 2 in Ohio. Top awards reach $22,200.
- ORBAA Scholarship$5,000 – $8,500 · Check dates
- Mitchell Cary and Don Gum Memorial Aviation Scholarship$1,500 · National Aviation Heritage Area counties · Check dates
- 48
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $15,973All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 5Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $15,973 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 6What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Blue Sky's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site
The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 7Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Blue Sky Flight Training?
- Blue Sky Flight Training publishes $151 per hour for the Cessna 172P and $47 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $15,973, in a range of $13,700 to $18,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Blue Sky Flight Training.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Blue Sky Flight Training?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Blue Sky Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Blue Sky Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Blue Sky Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Blue Sky Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Blue Sky Flight Training publishes $151 per hour for the Cessna 172P, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Blue Sky Flight Training?
- Blue Sky Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction runs $47 to $53 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Blue Sky Flight Training's own published rates.
Section 8Sources
Estimates use Blue Sky Flight Training's published Cessna 172P and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Blue Sky Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Blue Sky? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
One other school flies from Butler Co Regional Airport - Hogan Field.
It publishes a full rate card, so you can compare before you call. HAO is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Hogan Flying ServiceFull rate card, Cessna 152 at $130/hr and $55 to $60/hr instructionHamilton
Other Ohio flight schools
- Access Flight Training Services · Willoughby
- Avit Flight Academy · Wadsworth
- Blue Ash Aviation LLC · Cincinnati
- Bluffton Flying Service · Bluffton
- Capital City Aviation · Columbus
- Capital City Jet Center, Inc · Columbus
- Dayton Aviation Services · Dayton
- Flamingo Air Academy · Cincinnati
- Flight Gear Aviation · Heath
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.