PilotBound estimate · Tulsa, OK · Checked October 4, 2026

What flight training at Tulsa Flight Training costs

Website tulsaflighttraining.com

Phone 918-282-8388

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Wet. Two-seat, IFR certified, dual Garmin G5s and a GNS430 WAAS.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Tulsa Flight Training

$16,585

range $14.3K – $18.9K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Tulsa Flight Training's published rates: Cessna 150M at $145/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked October 4, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,255
at the hours students actually take$16,585

+$6,330 on Tulsa Flight Training's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$14.3K – $18.9K
Aircraft rental$10,440
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$14,210
72 hrs in Cessna 150M @ $145/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Tulsa Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Tulsa Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Tulsa Flight Training publishes

checked October 4, 2026
Cessna 150MWet. Two-seat, IFR certified, dual Garmin G5s and a GNS430 WAAS.$145/hr wet
Cessna 150Wet. Two-seat, with a Garmin 175 GPS the school uses for instrument training.$145/hr wet
Cessna 150HWet. Two-seat.$145/hr wet
Cessna 172GWet. 145 hp, basic instruments and a Garmin 696.$175/hr wet
Cessna 172GWet. 145 hp, basic instruments.$175/hr wet
Cessna 172NWet. 180 hp, Garmin G3X display. IFR.$185/hr wet
Cessna 172IWet. 180 hp, Garmin G3X and a GFC500 autopilot.$220/hr wet
FRASCA simulator (AATD)A simulator, not an aircraft.$60/hr wet
Instruction$65/hr

Rates are wet. Instructors charge $65/hr for ground and flight instruction. Buying ten or more hours at a time takes $10/hr off the aircraft rate.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Tulsa Flight Training does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$175

Checked October 4, 2026

One hour in a Cessna 150, on sale at $123 when checked. One hour in a Cessna 172 for two people is $250, on sale at $175.

Discovery flight prices in Oklahoma

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $16,585.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for51 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Oklahoma-only awards in the directory yet.
51
Money you pay backLenders that cover $16,585All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $16,585 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6In the app

Track it against Tulsa Flight Training's rates.

Tulsa Flight Training's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Tulsa Flight Training when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Section 7What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Tulsa Flight Training's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 8Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Tulsa Flight Training?
Tulsa Flight Training publishes $145 per hour for the Cessna 150M and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 4, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,585, in a range of $14,300 to $18,900. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Tulsa Flight Training.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Tulsa Flight Training?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Tulsa Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Tulsa Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Tulsa Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Tulsa Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
Tulsa Flight Training publishes $145 per hour for the Cessna 150M, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 4, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Tulsa Flight Training?
Tulsa Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Tulsa Flight Training's own published rates.

Section 9Sources

Estimates use Tulsa Flight Training's published Cessna 150M and instructor rates (checked October 4, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Tulsa Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Tulsa Flight Training? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

4 other schools fly from Tulsa Riverside Airport.

1 of them publishes at least one rate. RVS is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Oklahoma flight schools

All Oklahoma flight schoolsAll Tulsa flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.