PilotBound estimate · Lynchburg, VA · Checked September 12, 2026
What flight training at 3 Amigo's Flight Club costs
Website 3amigosflightclub.com
Phone (434) 381-0533
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Maintenance contribution, billed as tach time. Dry: fuel is billed separately.
Shown at 3 Amigo's Flight Club's published dry rate. Fuel is billed separately and is not included in this estimate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at 3 Amigo's Flight Club
range $10.1K – $13.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on 3 Amigo's's published rates: Cessna 172 at $90/hr dry + $50/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$4,180 on 3 Amigo's's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on 3 Amigo's Flight Club's published rates (dry; fuel billed separately). About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not 3 Amigo's Flight Club's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What 3 Amigo's publishes
checked September 12, 20263 Amigo's is a members' club and the rate shown is its Maintenance Contribution, billed on TACH time rather than Hobbs, with fuel billed separately per tenth of an hour on top. The club's own published all-in figure is approximately $190 to $210 per flight hour. Membership is required to fly and the dues are not published.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. 3 Amigo's does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $11,755.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in Virginia. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Chad Weaver Aviation Scholarship$1,000 · Check dates
- 47
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $11,755All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $11,755 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what 3 Amigo's's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?
The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at 3 Amigo's Flight Club?
- 3 Amigo's Flight Club publishes $90 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $50 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $11,755, in a range of $10,100 to $13,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from 3 Amigo's Flight Club.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at 3 Amigo's Flight Club?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at 3 Amigo's Flight Club to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is 3 Amigo's Flight Club a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- 3 Amigo's Flight Club does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do 3 Amigo's Flight Club's aircraft rates include fuel?
- 3 Amigo's Flight Club publishes $90 per hour for the Cessna 172, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top. Fuel typically adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour, so compare a dry rate against a wet one carefully. PilotBound's estimate uses the published dry rate exactly as listed and does not add a guessed fuel figure. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at 3 Amigo's Flight Club?
- 3 Amigo's Flight Club trains Private Pilot. Instruction is $50 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on 3 Amigo's Flight Club's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use 3 Amigo's Flight Club's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by 3 Amigo's Flight Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you 3 Amigo's? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
Other Virginia flight schools
- Aero Elite Flight Training · Leesburg, Winchester, Manassas & Norfolk
- Aviation Adventures · Manassas
- Bay Aviation · Topping
- Blue Ridge Aviation · Weyers Cave
- Charlottesville Flight Center · Charlottesville
- Commonwealth Aviation · Manassas & Norfolk
- Curtis Eads Flight School · Suffolk & Newport News
- Dominion Aviation Services · Richmond
- Dorton Aviation · Abingdon
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.