Rates partly published · Leesburg, Winchester, Manassas & Norfolk, VA

Flight training at Aero Elite Flight Training

No instructor rate. Aero Elite publishes rates for all 30 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked August 4, 2026 against Aero Elite flight training page.

FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · CFI
Phone
(571) 831-3170
Website
aeflight.com

Section 1What is published

Aero Elite's own figures

Checked August 20, 2026 · Source

Aero Elite Flight Training published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 140 (N4088N) at Leesburg1947$160/hrTwo-seat tailwheel; needs a tailwheel endorsement.
Vashon Ranger (N1434Q) at Leesburg2021$175/hrLight-sport (LSA).
Cessna 150M (N66472) at Leesburg1974$180/hrTwo-seat trainer.
Piper Cherokee 140 (N555AZ) at Manassas1969$180/hr
Piper Cherokee 140 (N4083Q) at Manassas$180/hr
Cessna 150 (N6640F) at Manassas1966$180/hrTwo-seat trainer.
Piper Warrior II (N4325V) at Winchester1983$180/hr
Cessna 172 (N2647L) at Norfolk1967$180/hr
Cessna 172P (N52516) at Norfolk1981$180/hr
Cessna 172N (N5357E) at Winchester1978$185/hr
Cessna 172P (N64776) at Manassas1982$185/hr
Cessna 172 (N6212G) at Leesburg1979$190/hr
Piper Cherokee 180 (N6485J) at Winchester1968$190/hr
Cessna 172N (N566BG) at Leesburg1979$195/hr
Cessna 172N (N5306E) at Leesburg1978$195/hr
Cessna 172 (N50906) at Leesburg1980$195/hr
Cessna 172S (N728SP) at Leesburg2000$200/hr
Piper Archer (N8373Y) at Leesburg1981$200/hr
Piper Archer II (N83947) at Leesburg1981$200/hr
Piper Cherokee 180 (N9384J) at Leesburg1966$200/hr
Piper Archer (N761BF) at Manassas$200/hr
Cessna 172R (N172DR) at Leesburg1997$205/hr
Cessna 172N (N9421E) at Leesburg1979$205/hr
Cessna 172 (N738PH) at Winchester1977$205/hr
Cessna 172M (N9131H) at Manassas$205/hr
Cessna 172S (N6017N) at Leesburg2006$215/hr
Cessna 172 (N372TA) at Leesburg2006$215/hr
Cessna 172S (N603ND) at Manassas2012$220/hr
Piper Comanche (N7754P) at Leesburg1961$260/hrComplex retractable.
Cessna 182T (N22373) at Leesburg2007$270/hrHigh performance.

Airframes built 1947 to 2021. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Aero Elite flies from four Virginia bases and the rate depends on which one you train at: Leesburg (KJYO), Winchester (KOKV), Manassas (KHEF) and Norfolk (KORF). Each airplane above is listed with its base. A fifth base at Ft. Washington, Maryland prices dry and is not included here. A multi-engine rating is advertised but no twin appears in the published rental fleet.

Section 2Discovery flight

$200

Checked September 14, 2026

30 minutes of ground instruction and 30 minutes in the air.

Discovery flight prices in Virginia

Section 3Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Aero Elite's rates. The middle of what 14 Virginia schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $90 to $225 per hour.
$165
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 14 schools with published rates.
$69

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Aero Elite is not in it.

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in Virginia. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Aero Elite's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. Is the instructor rate the same at all four Virginia bases?Missing from their site

    Airplane rates already differ by base, so instruction may too, and Leesburg and Norfolk are a long way apart.

  5. You advertise a multi-engine rating but publish no twin. Which airplane is it flown in and what does it cost?

    The rating cannot be trained on anything in the published fleet, so either the twin is unlisted or the training happens elsewhere.

  6. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  7. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  8. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Aero Elite Flight Training gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 6Nearby schools

14 Virginia schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 7Sources

That the school exists
Aero Elite flight training pageChecked August 4, 2026
The rates above
Aero Elite airplane rental ratesChecked August 20, 2026

Are you Aero Elite Flight Training? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Aero Elite Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Virginia flight schools

All Virginia flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.