PilotBound estimate · Eau Claire, WI · Checked September 12, 2026

What flight training at Gibson Aviation Services costs

Website gibsonaviation.com

Conveniently located near

  • Menomonie

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat trainer.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Gibson Aviation Services

$14,713

range $12.7K$16.8K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Gibson Aviation's published rates: Cessna 150L at $119/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$9,215
at the hours students actually take$14,713

+$5,498 on Gibson Aviation's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$12.7K$16.8K
Aircraft rental$8,568
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$12,338
72 hrs in Cessna 150L @ $119/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Gibson Aviation Services's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Gibson Aviation Services's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Gibson Aviation publishes

checked September 12, 2026
Cessna 150L (N5267Q, VFR)1972Two-seat trainer.$119/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172M (N12919, VFR)1973VFR only, so not the default for the instrument legs.$150/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172M (N8971V, VFR)1974VFR only.$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N75866, IFR)1976$165/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N104FS, IFR)1999Based at Chippewa Valley Regional (KEAU).$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172M (N29239, TAA)1974Technically advanced, so this would cover the Commercial's TAA time.$185/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $65/hr · instrument instruction $70/hr · commercial instruction $70/hr$65 – $70/hr

Airframes built 1972 to 1999. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Instruction in a student's own aircraft is $75/hr, which is not the rate used here. A Gleim BATD is $40/hr and is free with paid instruction. Gibson flies from both Eau Claire and Menomonie.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Gibson Aviation's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Gibson Aviation does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $14,713.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Wisconsin-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $14,713All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $14,713 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Gibson Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Gibson Aviation Services?
Gibson Aviation Services publishes $119 per hour for the Cessna 150L and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $14,713, in a range of $12,700 to $16,800. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Gibson Aviation Services.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Gibson Aviation Services?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Gibson Aviation Services to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Gibson Aviation Services a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Gibson Aviation Services does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Gibson Aviation Services's aircraft rates include fuel?
Gibson Aviation Services publishes $119 per hour for the Cessna 150L, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Gibson Aviation Services?
Gibson Aviation Services trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction runs $65 to $70 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Gibson Aviation Services's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Gibson Aviation Services's published Cessna 150L and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Gibson Aviation Services. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Gibson Aviation? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Wisconsin flight schools

All Wisconsin flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.