PilotBound estimate · Middleton, WI · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Morey Airplane Company costs

Website moreyairport.com

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Three 152s, one rate. Two-seat primary trainer.

Shown at Morey Airplane Company's published dry rate. Fuel is billed separately and is not included in this estimate.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Morey Airplane Company

$12,485

range $10.7K$14.2K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Morey's published rates: Cessna 152 at $80/hr dry + $75/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$7,975
at the hours students actually take$12,485

+$4,510 on Morey's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$10.7K$14.2K
Aircraft rental$5,760
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$10,110
72 hrs in Cessna 152 @ $80/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Morey Airplane Company's published rates (dry; fuel billed separately). About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Morey Airplane Company's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Morey publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172N (N4879D)1979$90/hr dry
Cessna 172N (N75706)1976$95/hr dry
Cessna 172SP$110/hr dry
Cessna 172N glass panel + autopilot$120/hr dry
Cessna 152Three 152s, one rate. Two-seat primary trainer.$80/hr dry
Instruction$75/hr

Airframes built 1976 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

This estimate uses Morey's published dry rates. It does not include fuel, which Morey bills separately by consumption per their website.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Morey does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $12,485.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Wisconsin-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $12,485All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $12,485 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Morey's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?

    The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Morey Airplane Company?
Morey Airplane Company publishes $80 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $12,485, in a range of $10,700 to $14,200. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Morey Airplane Company.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Morey Airplane Company?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Morey Airplane Company to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Morey Airplane Company a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Morey Airplane Company does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Morey Airplane Company's aircraft rates include fuel?
Morey Airplane Company publishes $80 per hour for the Cessna 152, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top. Fuel typically adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour, so compare a dry rate against a wet one carefully. PilotBound's estimate uses the published dry rate exactly as listed and does not add a guessed fuel figure. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Morey Airplane Company?
Morey Airplane Company trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Morey Airplane Company's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Morey Airplane Company's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Morey Airplane Company. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Morey? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Wisconsin flight schools

All Wisconsin flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.