PilotBound estimate · Bentonville, AR · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Legends Air Center costs

Website legendsaircenter.com

Phone (479) 254-0817

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

110 HP, Garmin Aera 500, VFR only. A two-seater, so not the right aircraft for the Instrument or the Commercial.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Legends Air Center

$16,445

range $14.1K$18.7K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Legends Air Center's published rates: Cessna 152 at $135/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,175
at the hours students actually take$16,445

+$6,270 on Legends Air Center's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$14.1K$18.7K
Aircraft rental$9,720
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$14,070
72 hrs in Cessna 152 @ $135/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Legends Air Center's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Legends Air Center's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Legends Air Center publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 152 (N65965)1978110 HP, Garmin Aera 500, VFR only. A two-seater, so not the right aircraft for the Instrument or the Commercial.$135/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N137AL)1976180 HP, Garmin GNS 430W, STEC 30 autopilot. IFR.$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N733VR)1977IFR.$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N172WN)1978$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N53068)2002$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N851SP)$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA-18 (N83552)Tailwheel, and the endorsement it serves carries the school's highest instruction rate.$190/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N840MC)2007The dearest 172 in the fleet.$195/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $75/hr · instrument instruction $80/hr · CFI candidates $80/hr · CFII candidates $80/hr$75 – $80/hr

Airframes built 1976 to 2007. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

The fleet is priced per tail and the site does not say whether fuel is included. Instruction is priced PER COURSE rather than flat: $75/hr for the Private and the Commercial, $80/hr for the Instrument and the CFI or CFII, and $100/hr for high-performance and tailwheel endorsements, which is the dearest tier. Ground school is sold separately at $45 a class or $320 for an eight-week course. A Redbird simulator is $60/hr and is not modeled.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Legends Air Center's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Legends Air Center does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $16,445.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Arkansas-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $16,445All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $16,445 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Legends Air Center's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Legends Air Center?
Legends Air Center publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $16,445, in a range of $14,100 to $18,700. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Legends Air Center.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Legends Air Center?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Legends Air Center to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Legends Air Center a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Legends Air Center does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Legends Air Center's aircraft rates include fuel?
Legends Air Center publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 152, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Legends Air Center?
Legends Air Center trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction runs $75 to $80 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Legends Air Center's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Legends Air Center's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Legends Air Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Legends Air Center? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

Other Arkansas flight schools

All Arkansas flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.