Flight training at Alameda Aero Club
Oakland, CA · Rates partly published
No instructor rate. Alameda Aero Club publishes rates for all 8 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked October 16, 2026 against Alameda Aero Club about page, "Our exact location is KOAK's North Field".
- Based at
- Oakland San Francisco Bay Airport(OAK)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · CFI
- Website
- alameda-aero.com
What is published
Alameda Aero Club's own figures
Checked October 16, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 172P Skyhawk (N52789, 1981)1981 | $155/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Midweek rate $145. |
| Cessna 172N Skyhawk (N739UL, 1978)1978 | $155/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Midweek rate $145. |
| Cessna 172N Superhawk (N6605D, 1980)1979 | $165/hr | Wet, per tach hour, 180 hp. Midweek rate $155. |
| Cessna 172N Superhawk (N734BN, 1977)1977 | $165/hr | Wet, per tach hour, 180 hp. Midweek rate $155. |
| Piper Warrior II (N8312H, 1982)1982 | $165/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Midweek rate $155. |
| Piper Arrow PA-28R-180 (N747JS, 1967)1967 | $180/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Retractable. Midweek rate $165. |
| Diamond DA40 (N22QT, 2005)2005 | $195/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Midweek rate $180. |
| Piper Comanche PA-24-180 (N7374P, 1961)1961 | $200/hr | Wet, per tach hour. Retractable. Midweek rate $185. |
Airframes built 1961 to 2005. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 21, 2026.
Rates are per tach hour, which runs below Hobbs time, paid by bank transfer; a card adds a fee. The midweek rate applies to same-day flights Tuesday to Thursday. A nonprofit club at Oakland's North Field that takes student pilots: $80 a month, a $250 initiation fee and a $750 refundable deposit. Instructors are independent and set their own rates.
Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Alameda Aero Club's rates. The middle of what 65 California schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $95 to $269 per hour.
- $160
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 65 schools with published rates.
- $80
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Alameda Aero Club is not in it.
Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Hiller Aviation Museum Flight Training Scholarship$15,000 · San Francisco Bay Area · Opens Feb 5, 2027
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Alameda Aero Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Which club instructor would you pair me with, and what does that instructor charge per hour?Missing from their site
Instructors are independent contractors who set their own rates. The club says only that some start as low as $50 an hour, which is a floor rather than a rate.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Alameda Aero Club gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youIn the app
Nearby schools
One other school flies from Oakland San Francisco Bay Airport.
It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. OAK is the identifier to give when you ask.
- East Bay FlightPublishes Piper Archer PA-28-181 at $180/hr, no instructor rateOakland
65 California schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Aces High AviationLong Beach, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$140/hr$90 to $100/hr instruction
- Aero AviationLong Beach, CA · Checked October 16, 2026$135/hr$100 to $120/hr instruction
- AeroDynamic AviationSan Jose, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$143/hr$82/hr instruction
- Air CarriageChico, CA · Checked October 16, 2026$175/hr$60 to $65/hr instruction
- Air Paso Flight ServicesPaso Robles, CA · Checked September 16, 2026$125/hr$95/hr instruction
- Ascent Aviation AcademyVan Nuys, CA · Checked October 16, 2026$145/hr$75/hr instruction
Sources
- That the school exists
- Alameda Aero Club about page, "Our exact location is KOAK's North Field"Checked October 16, 2026
- The rates above
- Alameda Aero Club aircraft pageChecked October 16, 2026
Are you Alameda Aero Club? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Alameda Aero Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other California flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


