What flight training costs at Oakland flight schools

3 schools train out of Oakland. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.

2 fields: Oakland International Airport (OAK) and San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Updated October 16, 2026 · All California flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 3 of 3 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across Oakland$15.2K$20.1K
  • Oakland Flyers LLC

    Part not stated

    Oakland, CA·oaklandflyers.com

    $164/hr aircraft (wet)·$60/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    All rates are wet, effective May 1, 2026. Figures shown are the regular rate; a block discount (about 10% off, for keeping a $500 prepaid account balance) lowers each one, noted per airplane. The Elite BATD simulator is $50/hr. The instructor rate is not on the aircraft page; the flight-training page lists individual instructors from about $50 to $90/hr (~$60 typical), so confirm it.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $17,663

    range $15.2K to $20.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planOakland Flyers cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Alameda Aero Club

    Part not stated

    Oakland, CA·OAK·alameda-aero.com

    $155/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked October 16, 2026·Source·8 aircraft published

    Rates are per tach hour, which runs below Hobbs time, paid by bank transfer; a card adds a fee. The midweek rate applies to same-day flights Tuesday to Thursday. A nonprofit club at Oakland's North Field that takes student pilots: $80 a month, a $250 initiation fee and a $750 refundable deposit. Instructors are independent and set their own rates.

    No PilotBound estimate

    Alameda Aero Club does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask Alameda Aero Club
  • East Bay Flight

    Part not stated

    Oakland, CA·OAK·eastbayflight.com

    $180/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·2 aircraft published

    Both Archers are priced wet. A Cirrus SR22T (N3CK) is also published, at $550/hr, but that figure is stated as the DUAL rate, meaning it already includes an instructor. It is not an aircraft rate and is not listed above, and it cannot be used to work out the instruction rate on its own.

    No PilotBound estimate

    East Bay Flight does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask East Bay Flight

Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in Oakland, in numbers

Computed from the 1 Oakland school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$17,663
Published trainer rental, per hour
$164/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$60/hr
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 3

Lowest published trainer rates in Oakland

Airports with Oakland flight schools

Common questions about Oakland flight schools

How much does flight school cost in Oakland?

Oakland Flyers LLC in Oakland is the one Oakland school here with a full published rate card: $164 per hour for its Cessna 152 and $60 per hour for instruction, checked September 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,663. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these Oakland flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Oakland is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Oakland are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which Oakland airports have flight schools?

2 fields carry the listed schools: Oakland International Airport (OAK) with 2, and San Francisco International Airport (SFO) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Oakland without one.