What flight training costs at Bakersfield flight schools
3 schools train out of Bakersfield. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
2 fields: Meadows Field (BFL) and Bakersfield Municipal Airport (L45). Updated October 12, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Bakersfield Flying Club
Part not statedBakersfield, CA·bakersfieldflyingclub.com
$155/hr aircraft (wet)·$70/hr instructor
Checked October 12, 2026·Source
All rates are wet. Three Cessna 172s: two 160hp (172N, 172M) at $155/hr, both TAA-approved for commercial training, and a 180hp 172S at $165/hr. The Redbird FMX AATD sim is $65/hr in the C172 config ($85 for the C206 config, $25 for emergency-procedures training), plus a CFI. Instructor rates are not on the airplanes page; independent CFIs run about $70 to $80/hr per the learn-to-fly page. Membership club (dues and an application fee apply).
PilotBound estimate, Private
$17,595
range $15.1K to $20.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planBakersfield Flying Club cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Excell Aviation, Inc.
Part not statedBakersfield, CA·BFL
No PilotBound estimate
Excell does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask ExcellRobbins Flight Training
Part not statedBakersfield, CA·L45
No PilotBound estimate
Robbins does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Robbins
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Bakersfield, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Bakersfield school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $17,595
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $155/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $70/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Bakersfield
Airports with Bakersfield flight schools
Meadows Field BFL
Bakersfield Municipal Airport L45
Flight schools in other California cities.
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- El Cajon6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Livermore5 schools, 2 with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Riverside3 schools, 2 with rates
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Santa Ana4 schools, 2 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about Bakersfield flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Bakersfield?
Bakersfield Flying Club in Bakersfield is the one Bakersfield school here with a full published rate card: $155 per hour for its Cessna 172N and $70 per hour for instruction, checked October 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,595. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Bakersfield flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Bakersfield is October 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Bakersfield are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Bakersfield airports have flight schools?
2 fields carry the listed schools: Meadows Field (BFL) with 2, and Bakersfield Municipal Airport (L45) with one. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Bakersfield without one.
