What flight training costs at El Cajon flight schools
6 schools train out of El Cajon. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 5 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Gillespie Field (SEE). Updated October 16, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Golden State Flying Club
Part 141El Cajon, CA·gsfc.com
$150/hr aircraft (wet)·$80/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
The aircraft rate is wet, with a 9% fuel surcharge charged on top that this estimate does not include. Instruction is $80/hr for the Private and $85/hr for instrument and advanced work, and ground instruction is charged at the same rate as flight instruction. The rate page prices one Piper Warrior line and no longer names a second, dearer tail.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$19,035
range $16.4K to $21.7K
~78 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planGolden State cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Fly The Wing Flight Training
Part not statedEl Cajon, CA·SEE·flythewing.com
No PilotBound estimate
Fly The Wing does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Fly The WingGillespie Flight Center
Part not statedEl Cajon, CA·SEE·gillespieflightcenter.com
$154/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked October 16, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published
No PilotBound estimate
Gillespie Flight Center does not publish an instructor rate
What to ask Gillespie Flight CenterRison Aviation
Part not statedEl Cajon, CA·SEE·risonaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Rison Aviation does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Rison AviationSAA Flight Training
Part not statedEl Cajon, CA·SEE·saaintl.com
Take Flight San Diego
Part not statedEl Cajon, CA·SEE·takeflightsandiego.com
aircraft rate not published·$180/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Accelerated finish-up and CFI training sold by the day: $1,440 full day, $720 half day, or $180 an hour where that fits better. The school owns no airplanes; students rent from a San Diego club at Gillespie, Montgomery, Ramona or Carlsbad, which the site says averages $170 to $180 an hour, and the simulator is $45. Those are another operator's rates, so no aircraft rate is recorded here.
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in El Cajon, in numbers
Computed from the 1 El Cajon school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 5 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $19,035
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $150/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $80 to $85
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 6
Lowest published trainer rates in El Cajon
Part 141 flight schools in El Cajon
Airports with El Cajon flight schools
Flight schools in other California cities.
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bakersfield3 schools, 1 with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Livermore5 schools, 2 with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Riverside3 schools, 2 with rates
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Santa Ana4 schools, 2 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about El Cajon flight schools
How much does flight school cost in El Cajon?
Golden State Flying Club in El Cajon is the one El Cajon school here with a full published rate card: $150 per hour for its Piper Warrior and $80 per hour for instruction, checked October 8, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,035. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these El Cajon flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in El Cajon is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 5 more schools in El Cajon are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which El Cajon airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Gillespie Field (SEE) with 6. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in El Cajon without one.
