What flight training costs at Santa Ana flight schools
4 schools train out of Santa Ana. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: John Wayne Orange County International Airport (SNA). Updated October 12, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Orange County Flight Center
Part 61 & 141Lowest in CALargest fleetSanta Ana, CA·ocfc.com
$180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$85/hr instructor
Checked October 12, 2026·Source
Instruction is priced per rating rather than flat, so the Private, Instrument, Commercial, CFI and multi-engine legs each cost a different hourly rate. A block programme credits 10% on deposits of $1,500 or more, and a course-completion credit returns 5% after 40 hours; neither is modeled here.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$20,265
range $17.4K to $23.1K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planOCFC cost breakdown →Pacific Flight Aviation
Part not statedSanta Ana, CA·pacificflight.com
$235/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$90/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Rates do not state wet or dry on the site; confirm. Special pricing on prepaid blocks of 25+ hours. Flight instruction is $90/hr, $100/hr for CFI and CFII, and $125/hr for multi-engine and MEI.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$24,515
range $21.1K to $27.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planPacific Flight cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Coastline Aviation
Part not statedSanta Ana, CA·SNA·coastlineaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Coastline does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask CoastlineSunrise Aviation
Part not statedSanta Ana, CA·SNA·sunriseaviation.com
No PilotBound estimate
Sunrise does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Sunrise
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Santa Ana, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Santa Ana schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $22,390
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $180 to $235
- Published instruction, per hour
- $85 to $125
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 4
Lowest published trainer rates in Santa Ana
Part 141 flight schools in Santa Ana
Airports with Santa Ana flight schools
Flight schools in other California cities.
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bakersfield3 schools, 1 with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- El Cajon6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Livermore5 schools, 2 with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Riverside3 schools, 2 with rates
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about Santa Ana flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Santa Ana?
Across the 2 Santa Ana flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $180 to $235 per hour and instruction $85 to $125 per hour, checked as recently as October 12, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $20,265 and $24,515, with a median of $22,390. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Santa Ana?
Orange County Flight Center in Santa Ana publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Santa Ana schools listed here, $180 per hour for its Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked October 12, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Santa Ana flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Santa Ana is October 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Santa Ana are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Santa Ana airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: John Wayne Orange County International Airport (SNA) with 4. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Santa Ana without one.
