What flight training costs at San Jose flight schools

5 schools train out of San Jose. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 4 are listed with what they do publish.

One field: Reid-Hillview Airport of Santa Clara County (RHV). Updated September 16, 2026 · All California flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 5 of 5 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across San Jose$15K$19.9K
  • San Jose, CA·aerodynamicaviation.com

    $143/hr aircraft (wet)·$82/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    Rates shown are the non-block rate; a prepaid block account lowers each one (block rate noted per airplane). Listed rates include fuel and taxes, but a fuel surcharge currently applies on top (a per-gallon amount posted at the office, not online), so confirm the current surcharge. Some aircraft cost more under Part 141 ($160 to $170). Two locations: San Jose / Reid-Hillview (KRHV), which has the Twin Comanche, and Monterey (KMRY). The instructor figure is the school's published block rate, which it describes as starting at $82/hr and varying with the instructor's experience, so confirm your instructor's rate and what it costs without a block account.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $17,427

    range $15K to $19.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planAeroDynamic cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Air Accord

    Part not stated

    San Jose, CA·RHV

    No PilotBound estimate

    Air Accord does not publish a website, an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Air Accord
  • Nice Air

    Part not stated

    San Jose, CA·RHV·niceairaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Nice Air does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Nice Air
  • Squadron 2

    Part not stated

    San Jose, CA·RHV·squadron2.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Squadron 2 does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Squadron 2
  • Trade Winds Aviation

    Part not stated

    San Jose, CA·RHV·tradewindsaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Trade Winds does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Trade Winds

Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Flight school costs in San Jose, in numbers

Computed from the 1 San Jose school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 4 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
$17,427
Published trainer rental, per hour
$143/hr
Published instruction, per hour
$82/hr
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
1 of 5

Lowest published trainer rates in San Jose

Part 141 flight schools in San Jose

Airports with San Jose flight schools

Common questions about San Jose flight schools

How much does flight school cost in San Jose?

AeroDynamic Aviation in San Jose is the one San Jose school here with a full published rate card: $143 per hour for its Cessna 150M and $82 per hour for instruction, checked September 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,427. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.

How current are these San Jose flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in San Jose is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 4 more schools in San Jose are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Which San Jose airports have flight schools?

One field carries the listed schools: Reid-Hillview Airport of Santa Clara County (RHV) with 5. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in San Jose without one.