What flight training costs at Riverside flight schools
3 schools train out of Riverside. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other one is listed with what they do publish.
One field: Riverside Municipal Airport (RAL). Updated September 13, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
California Aviation Services
Part 61 & 141Lowest in CARiverside, CA·caaviationservices.com
$95/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$60/hr instructor
Checked September 12, 2026·Source
The site publishes dual and solo rates rather than a separate instructor rate, and never says whether fuel is included. The instructor rate here is DERIVED as dual minus solo: $196 dual against $136 solo in the Cessna 172, and $155 against $95 in the Cessna 150, both giving $60/hr. Confirm before budgeting.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$12,695
range $10.9K to $14.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planCalifornia Aviation cost breakdown →Riverside Flight Academy
Part not statedLargest fleetRiverside, CA·riversideflightacademy.com
$150/hr aircraft (wet)·$60/hr instructor
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Rates include fuel, and a fuel surcharge is added to every flight without the amount being published, so the hourly figures here are a floor. Instruction is tiered: $60/hr primary, $70/hr advanced and $80/hr multi-engine. Three Redbird simulators are $80/hr for the Skyhawk and the Arrow and $90/hr for the Seminole. Ratings are also sold as fixed-price packages, including a multi-engine add-on at $5,995 covering up to eight hours of dual and two of checkride time with the examiner's fee separate.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$16,655
range $14.3K to $19K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planRiverside Flight Academy cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
NextGen Flight Academy
Part not statedRiverside, CA·RAL·flyhere.aero
No PilotBound estimate
NextGen does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask NextGen
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Riverside, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Riverside schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 1 listing without a full rate card is left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $14,675
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $95 to $150
- Published instruction, per hour
- $60 to $80
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Riverside
Part 141 flight schools in Riverside
Airports with Riverside flight schools
Riverside Municipal Airport RAL
Flight schools in other California cities.
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bakersfield3 schools, 1 with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- El Cajon6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Livermore5 schools, 2 with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Santa Ana4 schools, 2 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about Riverside flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Riverside?
Across the 2 Riverside flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $95 to $150 per hour and instruction $60 to $80 per hour, checked as recently as September 13, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $12,695 and $16,655, with a median of $14,675. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Riverside?
California Aviation Services in Riverside publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Riverside schools listed here, $95 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked September 12, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Riverside flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Riverside is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and one more school in Riverside is listed without an estimate because it does not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Riverside airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Riverside Municipal Airport (RAL) with 2. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Riverside without one.
