What flight training costs at Livermore flight schools
5 schools train out of Livermore. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Livermore Municipal Airport (LVK). Updated October 16, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Red Sky Aviation
Part not statedLowest in CALargest fleetLivermore, CA·redskyaviation.com
$130/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$59/hr instructor
Checked October 16, 2026·Source
Red Sky does not state whether its rates include fuel. Its instruction rate of $59/hr is the lowest in the California set. A Cessna 152 is listed as under restoration and has no published rate.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$15,157
range $13K to $17.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planRed Sky cost breakdown →Five Rivers Aviation
Part 61Livermore, CA·fly5rivers.com
$160/hr aircraft (wet)·$70/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
Rates are wet (fuel included). Instructors are priced individually from $40 to $90/hr; the listed rate is a mid-range representative.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$17,955
range $15.4K to $20.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planFive Rivers cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Attitude Aviation
Part not statedLivermore, CA·LVK·attitudeaviation.com
$160/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 14, 2026·Source·13 aircraft published
Each airplane is priced on the fleet page. The page does not say whether fuel is included.
Bay Area Flying Club
Part not statedLivermore, CA·LVK·bayareaflyingclub.com
No PilotBound estimate
Bay Area Flying Club does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask Bay Area Flying ClubFlying Particles
Part not statedLivermore, CA·LVK·flyingparticles.org
$155/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked October 16, 2026·Source·7 aircraft published
Rates are per tach hour, which runs below the Hobbs time most schools bill, and each airplane adds a small charge per half day. A members-only club open to the public: $95 a month with a $2,500 initiation fee that is refunded when you leave. Student pilots join and train with one of the club's instructors, who set their own rates.
No PilotBound estimate
Flying Particles does not publish an instructor rate
What to ask Flying Particles
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Livermore, in numbers
Computed from the 2 Livermore schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
- $16,556
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $130 to $160
- Published instruction, per hour
- $59 to $70
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 2 of 5
Lowest published trainer rates in Livermore
Airports with Livermore flight schools
Livermore Municipal Airport LVK
Attitude AviationBay Area Flying ClubFive Rivers AviationFlying ParticlesRed Sky Aviation
Flight schools in other California cities.
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bakersfield3 schools, 1 with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- El Cajon6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Riverside3 schools, 2 with rates
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Santa Ana4 schools, 2 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about Livermore flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Livermore?
Across the 2 Livermore flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $130 to $160 per hour and instruction $59 to $70 per hour, checked as recently as October 16, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $15,157 and $17,955, with a median of $16,556. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.
What is the cheapest flight school in Livermore?
Red Sky Aviation in Livermore publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 Livermore schools listed here, $130 per hour for its Cessna 150, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked October 16, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.
How current are these Livermore flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Livermore is October 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools in Livermore are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Livermore airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Livermore Municipal Airport (LVK) with 5. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Livermore without one.
