What flight training costs at John Wayne Orange County International (SNA)

5 schools train at John Wayne Orange County International Airport, Santa Ana. 2 publish a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.

Updated October 12, 2026 · All California flight schools

Estimate cost toflying
Showing 5 of 5 schools

Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.

Private estimate range across John Wayne Orange County International$17.4K$27.9K
  • Lowest in CALargest fleet

    Santa Ana, CA·ocfc.com

    $180/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$85/hr instructor

    Checked October 12, 2026·Source

    Instruction is priced per rating rather than flat, so the Private, Instrument, Commercial, CFI and multi-engine legs each cost a different hourly rate. A block programme credits 10% on deposits of $1,500 or more, and a course-completion credit returns 5% after 40 hours; neither is modeled here.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $20,265

    range $17.4K to $23.1K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planOCFC cost breakdown →
  • Santa Ana, CA·pacificflight.com

    $235/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$90/hr instructor

    Checked September 16, 2026·Source

    Rates do not state wet or dry on the site; confirm. Special pricing on prepaid blocks of 25+ hours. Flight instruction is $90/hr, $100/hr for CFI and CFII, and $125/hr for multi-engine and MEI.

    PilotBound estimate, Private

    $24,515

    range $21.1K to $27.9K

    ~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.

    Add to my planPacific Flight cost breakdown →
  • Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
  • Coastline Aviation

    Part not stated

    Santa Ana, CA·SNA·coastlineaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Coastline does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Coastline
  • Royal Aviation

    Part not stated

    Costa Mesa, CA·SNA·royalaviation.net

    $169/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published

    Checked September 13, 2026·Source·5 aircraft published

    No PilotBound estimate

    Royal Aviation does not publish an instructor rate

    What to ask Royal Aviation
  • Sunrise Aviation

    Part not stated

    Santa Ana, CA·SNA·sunriseaviation.com

    No PilotBound estimate

    Sunrise does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate

    What to ask Sunrise

Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy

Discovery flights at SNA 1

California discovery flights →

Flight school costs at John Wayne Orange County International, in numbers

Computed from the 2 John Wayne Orange County International schools that publish both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.

Median PilotBound Private estimate across the 2 schools with published rates
$22,390
Published trainer rental, per hour
$180 to $235
Published instruction, per hour
$85 to $125
Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
2 of 5

Lowest published trainer rates at John Wayne Orange County International

Part 141 flight schools at John Wayne Orange County International

Common questions about flight schools at SNA

How much does flight school cost at John Wayne Orange County International?

Across the 2 John Wayne Orange County International flight schools here that publish full rates, trainer rentals run $180 to $235 per hour and instruction $85 to $125 per hour, checked as recently as October 12, 2026. On each school's own published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate between $20,265 and $24,515, with a median of $22,390. These are PilotBound estimates built on published rates, not quotes from the schools.

What is the cheapest flight school at John Wayne Orange County International?

Orange County Flight Center in Santa Ana publishes the lowest trainer rental of the 2 John Wayne Orange County International schools listed here, $180 per hour for its Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included, checked October 12, 2026. The lowest hourly rate is not automatically the lowest total: instructor rates, fuel basis, and the hours you actually fly decide that, which is what the per-school estimates on this page hold constant.

How current are these John Wayne Orange County International flight school rates?

Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at John Wayne Orange County International is October 12, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools at John Wayne Orange County International are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.

Can I take a discovery flight at SNA?

One of the 5 schools at John Wayne Orange County International Airport publishes a discovery flight price: Pacific Flight Aviation at $185, checked September 16, 2026. Each is the school's own published price, and the listing says what it includes.