What flight training costs at Palo Alto (PAO)
4 schools train at Palo Alto Airport, Palo Alto. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
Updated September 13, 2026 · All California flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Stanford Flying Club
Part not statedPalo Alto, CA·flystanford.com
$174/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·$110/hr instructor
Checked September 12, 2026·Source
Stanford Flying Club publishes DRY rates: the club states fuel and small taxes are not included, so budget fuel on top of every figure here. It is a membership club, and instructors are independent contractors approved to teach at the club at a club-published rate.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$21,283
range $18.3K to $24.3K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planStanford Flying Club cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Advantage Aviation
Part not statedPalo Alto, CA·PAO·advantage-aviation.com
$155/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
Advantage publishes rates on individual aircraft pages rather than one rate card, fourteen of them, ranging from $155/hr to about $250/hr. The $155 recorded here is the cheapest published figure. The model is not stated reliably against every tail, so the individual airplanes are not listed rather than guessed at, and the fuel basis is not stated anywhere.
No PilotBound estimate
Advantage Aviation does not publish an instructor rate
What to ask Advantage AviationSundance Flying Club, Inc
Part not statedPalo Alto, CA·PAO·flysundance.org
No PilotBound estimate
Sundance does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask SundanceWest Valley Flying Club
Part not statedPalo Alto & San Carlos, CA·PAO·wvfc.org
$255/hr aircraft·instructor rate not published
Checked September 9, 2026·Source·21 aircraft published
Twenty-one advanced aircraft are priced to the tail and the dollar, all wet, and every one of them is a Skylane or bigger. None is a primary trainer, so the figure a student starting from zero would pay is not among them: the trainers are described only as a range, from about $120 an hour to around $300, with worked examples at $149 for a Cessna 152, $229 for a 172S and $249 for a 172S with G1000. This is a two-base club at Palo Alto and San Carlos, so the aircraft you fly depends on which field you join at, and dues are on top of every rate here.
No PilotBound estimate
West Valley does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask West Valley
Estimates use the same method as every California school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs at Palo Alto, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Palo Alto school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $21,283
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $174/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $110/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 4
Lowest published trainer rates at Palo Alto
Flight schools in California cities.
- Palo Alto3 schools, 1 with rates
- Acampo3 schools
- Auburn3 schools, all with rates
- Bakersfield3 schools, 1 with rates
- Bermuda Dunes3 schools, 1 with rates
- Camarillo3 schools
- Cameron Park3 schools, 2 with rates
- Carlsbad3 schools, all with rates
- Chico2 schools, all with rates
- Chino5 schools, 1 with rates
- Concord5 schools, 1 with rates
- El Cajon6 schools, 1 with rates
- Hayward5 schools
- Lancaster2 schools, all with rates
- Livermore5 schools, 2 with rates
- Long Beach7 schools, 3 with rates
- Novato3 schools
- Oakland3 schools, 1 with rates
- Ramona3 schools
- Riverside3 schools, 2 with rates
- Sacramento3 schools, 1 with rates
- San Carlos3 schools
- San Diego5 schools, 2 with rates
- San Jose5 schools, 1 with rates
- Santa Ana4 schools, 2 with rates
- Stockton3 schools, 2 with rates
- Torrance4 schools, 3 with rates
- Van Nuys15 schools, 6 with rates
- Watsonville4 schools, 1 with rates
All California flight schools →Flight school costs by state →
Common questions about flight schools at PAO
How much does flight school cost at Palo Alto?
Stanford Flying Club in Palo Alto is the one Palo Alto school here with a full published rate card: $174 per hour for its Cessna 162 Skycatcher and $110 per hour for instruction, checked September 12, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,283. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Palo Alto flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Palo Alto is September 13, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools at Palo Alto are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
