PilotBound estimate · Van Nuys, CA · Checked August 20, 2026

What flight training at Ascent Aviation Academy costs

Website ascentaviationacademy.com

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Piper Warrior (advanced avionics), $145/hr

Traffic alerts and terrain avoidance.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Ascent Aviation Academy

$17,165

range $14.8K$19.6K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Ascent's published rates: Piper Warrior at $145/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked August 20, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,575
at the hours students actually take$17,165

+$6,590 on Ascent's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$14.8K$19.6K
Aircraft rental$10,440
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$14,790
72 hrs in Piper Warrior @ $145/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Ascent Aviation Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Ascent Aviation Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Ascent publishes

checked August 20, 2026
Piper Warrior (advanced avionics)Traffic alerts and terrain avoidance.$145/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$75/hr

Ascent does not say whether its aircraft rate includes fuel. Both rates come from the school's own zero-to-career cost breakdown rather than a rate table: 260 aircraft hours at $145/hr, 120 instructor hours and 60 ground hours at $75/hr.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Ascent's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Ascent does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $17,165.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $17,165All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $17,165 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Ascent's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Ascent Aviation Academy?
Ascent Aviation Academy publishes $145 per hour for the Piper Warrior and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 20, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,165, in a range of $14,800 to $19,600. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Ascent Aviation Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Ascent Aviation Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Ascent Aviation Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Ascent Aviation Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Ascent Aviation Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Ascent Aviation Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
Ascent Aviation Academy publishes $145 per hour for the Piper Warrior, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked August 20, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Ascent Aviation Academy?
Ascent Aviation Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $75 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Ascent Aviation Academy's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Ascent Aviation Academy's published Piper Warrior and instructor rates (checked August 20, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Ascent Aviation Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Ascent? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

14 other schools fly from Van Nuys Airport.

9 of them publish at least one rate. VNY is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schoolsAll Van Nuys flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.