PilotBound estimate · Churchville, MD · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at Harford Air Services costs

Website harfordair.com

Phone (410) 836-2828

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Harford Air Services

$18,745

range $16.1K$21.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Harford Air's published rates: Cessna 172 at $175/hr + $65/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,455
at the hours students actually take$18,745

+$7,290 on Harford Air's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$16.1K$21.4K
Aircraft rental$12,600
Instruction$3,770
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$16,370
72 hrs in Cessna 172 @ $175/hr + 58 dual @ $65/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Harford Air Services's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Harford Air Services's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Harford Air publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Cessna 172 (solo)$175/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Seneca (twin)Twin. Only a dual rate is published ($430/hr); the MEI is bundled in.$430/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$65/hr

The C172 CFI rate is derived from solo ($175) vs dual ($240). The Seneca publishes only a dual rate ($430/hr) with the multi-engine instructor bundled in.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Harford Air's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Harford Air trains under both parts, and the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,745.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Maryland-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,745All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,745 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Harford Air's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Harford Air Services?
Harford Air Services publishes $175 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $65 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,745, in a range of $16,100 to $21,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Harford Air Services.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Harford Air Services?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Harford Air Services to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Harford Air Services a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Harford Air Services trains under both Part 61 and Part 141, so you can pick the structured FAA-approved course or the flexible path. Part 141 is the one that matters for VA benefits and for the lower paper minimum on the private certificate; Part 61 is the one that bends around a full-time job.
Do Harford Air Services's aircraft rates include fuel?
Harford Air Services publishes $175 per hour for the Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Harford Air Services?
Harford Air Services trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $65 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Harford Air Services's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Harford Air Services's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Harford Air Services. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Harford Air? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

Other Maryland flight schools

All Maryland flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.