Rates partly published · Grosse Ile, MI
Flight training at Halls Aviation
No instructor rate. Halls publishes rates for all 7 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.
Checked September 13, 2026 against Halls Aviation fleet page.
- Based at
- Grosse Ile Municipal Airport(ONZ)
- FAA part
- Not stated on their site
- Trains
- PPL · IR · CPL · CFI · CFII · Multi · MEI
- Phone
- (734) 561-3683
- Website
- hallsaviation.com
Section 1What is published
Halls's own figures
Checked September 13, 2026 · Source
| Aircraft | Published rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cessna 150 (N8572U)1976 | $130/hr | IFR certified, six-pack panel with a Garmin GNX 375 and ADS-B Out. |
| Cessna 172 (N9244H)1975 | $188/hr | Garmin GNS 430, IFR certified. |
| Cessna 172 (N5319D)1979 | $188/hr | Dual Garmin G5, GNS 430, ADS-B In/Out, IFR certified. |
| Cessna 172 (N73964)1976 | $188/hr | Dual Garmin G5, GNS 530, panel-mounted iPads, IFR certified. |
| Cessna 172K Hawk XP (N12J)1977 | $216/hr | 210 hp with a constant-speed prop, dual G5, GTN 750 and a GFC 500 autopilot. A high-performance endorsement and a checkout are required. |
| Piper Aztec D Turbo (1969) | $420/hr | Six-place twin used for multi-engine and MEI training, with an Aspen 1000 and a WAAS GPS. |
| Redbird MCX full-motion simulator | $82/hr | Standard rate. High-school students pay $70/hr. Single- and multi-engine, ForeFlight integration. |
Airframes built 1975 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
Every aircraft is priced wet, with fuel and oil included, per the site's own note. The three 172s carry a fuel surcharge whenever fuel is over $5.00 a gallon.
Section 2Discovery flight
$149
Checked September 13, 2026
One hour in a Cessna 150. The same hour in a Cessna 172 is $199.
Section 3Why there is no total
An estimate needs an instructor rate.
A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.
Instructor rateMissing from their site
Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.
What to compare their answer against
Not Halls's rates. The middle of what 14 Michigan schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.
- Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $109 to $395 per hour.
- $175
- Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 14 schools with published rates.
- $60
From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Halls is not in it.
Section 4Paying for it
Two ways to pay for it.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Michigan-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6
Section 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked ones are what Halls's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site
This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
What does instruction cost per hour, and is multi-engine dual in the Aztec priced differently from the singles?Missing from their site
Every airplane and the simulator is priced to the dollar on the fleet page, and instruction is not mentioned there.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Called them? Send us what they said.
Send the number over and Halls Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.
Send what they told youSection 6Nearby schools
14 Michigan schools publish a full rate card.
Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.
- Apogee AirWaterford, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$395/hr$155 to $225/hr instruction
- Ascend AviationKimball, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$180/hr$65/hr instruction
- Crosswinds AviationHowell, MI · Checked September 8, 2026$189/hr$52/hr instruction
- Foxtrot Flight TrainingDowagiac, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$115/hr$70/hr instruction
- Giving Wings AviationTraverse City, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$179/hr$60/hr instruction
- Great Lakes Air VenturesMason, MI · Checked September 12, 2026$130/hr$65 to $80/hr instruction
Section 7Sources
- That the school exists
- Halls Aviation fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
- The rates above
- Halls Aviation fleet pageChecked September 13, 2026
Are you Halls Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.
This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.
- What instruction costs per hourSend it
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Halls Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Other Michigan flight schools
- ACE Aviation Center · Ann Arbor
- Airmen Academy · Lowell
- Airservice Enterprise · Howell
- American Aviation · Waterford
- Apogee Air · Waterford
- Ascend Aviation · Kimball
- Bay Flying Services · Saginaw
- Centennial Aircraft Services · Battle Creek
- Clear2Aviate · Ionia
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.