Rates partly published · Starkville, MS

Flight training at Mississippi Aviation Academy

No instructor rate. MS Aviation Academy publishes rates for all 3 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 13, 2026 against Mississippi Aviation Academy rental rates page.

FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · CFI · CFII
Website
mississippiaviationacademy.com

Section 1What is published

MS Aviation Academy's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

Mississippi Aviation Academy published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 150$150/hrdryTwo-seat primary trainer. $140/hr on a 10-hour block.
Cessna 172$190/hrdryPrimary/instrument trainer. $171/hr on a 10-hour block.
The Champ$190/hrdryTailwheel; needs a tailwheel endorsement.

Rates are DRY: the academy states that instructor fees, fuel and maintenance are all required on top. It also publishes 10-hour prepaid block rates, a Cessna 150 at $140/hr and a Cessna 172 and the Champ at $171/hr, and offers a 10% discount for military and first responders.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not MS Aviation Academy's rates. The middle of what 4 Mississippi schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $119 to $159 per hour.
$155
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 4 schools with published rates.
$80

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. MS Aviation Academy is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Mississippi-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what MS Aviation Academy's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?

    The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.

  4. What is the hourly instruction rate, and does the 10-hour block discount apply to it as well as the airplane?Missing from their site

    The block discount is published for aircraft only. If it covers instruction too, that changes the total on every prepaid hour.

  5. Does the 10% military and first-responder discount apply to instruction?

    It is advertised against the rates page, which only prices airplanes, so its scope is unclear.

  6. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  7. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  8. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and Mississippi Aviation Academy gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

4 Mississippi schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
Mississippi Aviation Academy rental rates pageChecked September 13, 2026
The rates above
Mississippi Aviation Academy rental ratesChecked September 13, 2026

Are you Mississippi Aviation Academy? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Mississippi Aviation Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other Mississippi flight schools

All Mississippi flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.