Flight training at Great Basin Aviation

Reno, NV · Rates partly published

No aircraft rate or instructor rate. Great Basin Aviation publishes and nothing for the airplanes or instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked October 16, 2026 against Great Basin Aviation fleet page, nine tails at Reno Tahoe.

Based at
Reno Tahoe International Airport(RNO)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · CFI · CFII
Website
greatbasinaviation.com

What is published

Great Basin Aviation publishes no hourly rates.

Everything we could source about Great Basin Aviation is in the facts above: where it flies from, what it trains, and how to reach it. No aircraft rate and no instructor rate appear anywhere we can cite.

Checked October 16, 2026 against Great Basin Aviation fleet page, nine tails at Reno Tahoe.

Discovery flight

$199

Checked October 16, 2026

A discovery flight.

See it on their site

Discovery flight prices in Nevada

Why there is no total

An estimate needs an aircraft rate and an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With the airplanes or instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Aircraft rateMissing from their site

    The airplane is the biggest line on a training bill.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not Great Basin Aviation's rates. The middle of what 9 Nevada schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $160 to $235 per hour.
$170
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 9 schools with published rates.
$70

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. Great Basin Aviation is not in it.

Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Nevada-only awards in the directory yet.
45
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Great Basin Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. What is the hourly rate on your cheapest trainer, and which airplane is that?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site, and it is the largest line on your bill.

  4. Is that rate wet or dry, meaning does it include fuel?Missing from their site

    A dry rate and a wet rate are not comparable. Dry rates can run $40 to $60 an hour lower for the same airplane.

  5. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  6. What does each of the nine Cessnas rent for per hour, what does instruction cost, and is fuel included?Missing from their site

    The fleet page names every tail and its avionics but carries no price, and the page that used to hold the rate schedule is gone. The site asks you to call for rates.

  7. Can you send the rate sheet the fleet page refers to?

    One aircraft listing invites you to check a rate sheet, but no such sheet is published anywhere on the site.

  8. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  9. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  10. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the numbers over and Great Basin Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

In the app

Track your training at Great Basin Aviation.

Great Basin Aviation is in the PilotBound app. Choose Great Basin Aviation when you set up and enter the rates it gives you; the app prices your training on them and tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

Nearby schools

3 other schools fly from Reno-Tahoe International Airport.

2 of them publish at least one rate. RNO is the identifier to give when you ask.

9 Nevada schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Sources

That the school exists
Great Basin Aviation fleet page, nine tails at Reno TahoeChecked October 16, 2026
The rates above
Great Basin Aviation home pageChecked October 16, 2026

Are you Great Basin Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says these are not stated on your site. Send us where each one is published and it shows here instead.

  • What your aircraft rent for per hourSend it
  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Great Basin Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.